Yakitori Don Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I made this tonight using boneless, skinless chicken breast over rice (as suggested) for my husband and OMG it was to die for!! The only thing is it was a tad bit salty so next time I am gonna use less soy sauce. I let this sit for 32 hours and it just fell apart in our mouth! Yum yum I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I have a small family so I use chicken thighs only instead of a whole chicken. It took way longer than the recipe stated to reduce the sauce. However, the flavor was great. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
THIS VARIATION IS OUTSTANDING AS WELL, SERVED WITH WHITE RICE UMMMM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Pretty good. Added an onion, some sliced green onions, and used more sugar and sake in place of mirin (I'm allergic to corn syrup). Closest I'll get to yakitori living in Rawlins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This was very good, but I also found it really salty. I will try it again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Simple and Delicious! After cooking the chicken wok style, I skewered the chicken along with shiitake mushrooms, zucchini, and yellow squash and baked on 400 for about 8 mins. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Similar to another recipe I have but surprisingly, this gave a special zing to the chicken. I now prefer it to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam R-H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Karen, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Oh my gosh, this is soooo good. After marinating, I put the beef and chicken on skewers and grilled them. I boiled the marinade and then basted with it and served it on the side. My husband said that I should make it every night. I think I'll just make about 10 copies of this and pass it out to my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I completely modified the recipe, only taking the ingredients list. But after 1 mediocre attempt, I got it right. The basic changes I made were 50/50 mirin/soy sauce, and half the sugar. I would also put in much much more ginger. I also use 1 tsp. seasame seed oil and sometimes sprinkle seasame seeds on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
The flavors of the chicken were fantastic, I personally thought that it was too salty though. Next time I'll use less soy sauce, but other than that I enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States