Yakisoba Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This recipe is getting rave reviews so it's obviously very popular and delicious to the reviewers, but having lived in Japan for 23 years, I must say this is not an authentic recipe. A true Japanese yakisoba recipe would never have any chili sauce in it, and it would be finished with matchstick red pickled ginger and Aonori (green flake-type seaweed). Japanese foods tend to have very subtle favors which probably does not have "enough kick" for the American palate, and as a result, recipes tend to get modified quite extensively. I mean no offense by this review, just wanted to inform the public.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
491 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I used traditional tonkatsu (yakisoba) sauce for this instead of making the sauce from scratch and it was awesome - made by Kikkoman and found at my regular grocery store. I also added fresh grated ginger, minced garlic, and a few dashes of soy sauce instead of a whole 1/2 cup. For extra veggies we threw in bean sprouts and mushrooms. We added a dash of crushed red pepper for a little kick - this was very tasty and cooked nicely in my wok! Try the tonkatsu sauce - it will definitely give you the yakisoba flavor you are looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
For having so few ingredients, I thought this was incredibly flavorful. And I didn't even use chile paste because I couldn't find it in the store. I substituted about 2 tsp. of chile powder, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, and a dash of cayenne pepper. Also used 3 cloves of garlic instead of 2. The result was just the perfect amount of spice (warms the mouth but still allows you to taste your food). The soy sauce tasted great on the chicken, veggies, and noodles. I just added a dash of rice wine vinegar to the veggies as they were finishing cooking. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
So very, very good! Taking the others' suggestions I did the following: used Sriracha (Rooster) Sauce in place of the chili paste; doubled the garlic; used 8 chicken tenders instead of breasts (I can see using sliced beef or cubed tofu too!); cut the carrots into matchsticks; to the cabbage mixture I added 1/4 cup chicken broth to help the softening process; after the cabbage mixture was softened I added 1 small can of drained & coarsely chopped bamboo shoots, 1 can of drained bean sprouts, and about 1/2 cup of prepared muchrooms. A touch of chopped scallions on each serving was the finishing touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This yakisoba recipe left out the tonkatsu sauce that is needed for authentic taste. As is, the dish is edible, but nothing at all what I was going for. All in all, I would say this is not a recipe for the person wanting to taste real japanese yakisoba. I suggest doing a Google search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
It tasted awful. I threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This is just awesome, I used chinese cabbage, some green beans,some red and green bell peppers and garlic paste to give that extra Zing my hubby really loves this thanks for the receipe my husband suggests that next time try adding few fresh beansprouts, combinations of Veggies are endless !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I have been wanting to make yakisoba for a loooong time now! Thanks for this great recipe. I added some mushrooms, too, just to sneak in a couple more veggies to my family. The kids loved it, too. OH, and I used chili powder because I didn't have any paste. %)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
I tried this recipe. I replaced the chili paste with chili powder, and added teriyaki to the chicken as it was cooking. I really enjoyed this recipe, and so did my family. I will use the recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
This is the first yakisoba recipe I have ever tried to make, and it turned out exceptionally well! It easily compares with the teriyaki restaurant near my home that makes this dish. Since I could not find "chili paste," I used a "hot chili garlic sauce" by Sun Luck that made the dish a little too spicy when used in the same quantity as the chili paste. I ran out of soy sauce so I used a little teriyaki sauce in combination with what soy sauce I had left, and it was just fine. I also added a zucchini and used fresh yakisoba noodles, which did not require any additional cooking and draining. I wouldn't have eaten this as a kid, so I don't know if it's "kid-friendly," but my husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Yakisoba

See how to make Japanese yakisoba stir-fry with chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States