Yakisoba Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
3.5 stars. I liked it, but it didn't really wow me and didn't taste much like the yakisoba you'd find in teriyaki joints, which was what I was expecting this to taste like. I did buy a bottle of tonkatsu sauce instead of making the sauce from scratch, used vegetable oil instead of canola oil, and used mushrooms instead of cabbage (not a fan of it). I'll make the recipe again if I'm feeling in the mood for yakisoba, have the ingredients on hand, and feel too cheap to go out and order the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made this without the noodles, served it with asian flavored quinoa instead... I used olive oil because it was all I had on hand, skipped the chile paste and used some red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper instead, I also added broccoli, chopped red bell pepper, and chopped mushroom. With all that, a definite 5!!! Even my vegetable picky husband liked it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Simple recipe. Easy to make. Pretty healthy. Wonderful taste! My husband insisted I must now make this at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My husband was stationed in Japan for 5 years and loves Yakisoba - after spending way too much at Japanese resturants decided to try my hand at this --couldn't find chile paste so used a little chile powder instead and hot chile oil with the other oils and threw in jar of shitake mushrooms - hubby said I "nailed it". Permanent in my recipe file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Made the recipe as written. It was bland - not much flavor. It needed something to spice it up. Made it along side homemade sushi because we had family members who do not eat sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Did everything except the sauce. I mixed a couple tablespoons of soy sauce + a drizzle of rice vinegar + teaspoon of sugar for that perfect salty sweet taste. Great with Sriracha sauce when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Recipe wasn't too bad. It reminded me of Korean japchae. Pretty tasty, and quick and easy to make. Didn't follow the directions exactly--just threw stuff in as I went, and it turned out well. Will make again when I need a quick meal. Note to chefs: make sure to rinse your soba noodles thoroughly because they are VERY starchy. Run them under cold water and wash them until the water runs clear. Otherwise, you may run into the problem of them getting too gooey when cooked. Also traditionally, yakisoba is not made with the buckwheat soba noodles so don't expect these to taste EXACTLY authentic. Look for chuka noodles (more similar to ramen) for more authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mashpotatobunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Used shrimp and added mushrooms. Easy, flavorful. Husband and kids liked it, but seemed a bit too saucy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
That was FANTASTIC, and I cheated a little. (I used ramen noodles from the packets. (college kid) I love double parenthesis). It probably would have been even better if I could follow the ingredients perfectly, but I was hoping for something simple that didn't involve running to the store, so this was perfect. I would definitely recommend it to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Yakisoba

See how to make Japanese yakisoba stir-fry with chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States