Yakisoba Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This may taste fine for many who never had real yakisoba but this is NOT Japanese yakisoba. I was born and grew up in Japan and yakisoba is my favorite dish. Yakisoba is a staple dish at festivals and recreating it at home is actually harder than we think if we don't have the pre-made yakisoba sauce. I'm not here to deny this recipe, I just want all of my fellow cooks to know the facts about yakisoba since many people are getting familiar with Asian dishes, especially Japanese food and ingredients. Although we call buckwheat noodles, "soba," for yakisoba, we NEVER, and I mean never, use buckwheat noodles for yakisoba. What we use is "chu-ka soba." Most of supermarkets in Asian food section isle has dried "chu-ka soba" packet. If you live in a community with many Asian descends, you might find a bag in refrigerate Asian section perhaps near tofu or kimchee. As for sauce, traditionally at festivals, worcestershire sauce and/or chuno- sauce flavor the yakisoba (tonkatsu sauce is for deep fried pork and it's too thick and sweet) but at home, some people uses soy sauce. So, if anything, please try this recipe with chu-ka soba and then you'll be having "yakisoba"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
The whole family loved it, even my 1 yr old. I couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This may not have been an authentic Yakisoba (I wouldn't know), but it was really quite good. I happened to have all of these ingredients in the house and followed the recipe exactly (cut the onions a little thinner than 8ths). It had just exactly the amount of spice we like. This one is definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Crip Suzette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
While I did LOVE this recipe, I did make the following changes: 1 T red curry paste, 1 lb chicken breast, 1 carrot, 4 oz soba noodles, PLUS i added a large mushroom, and 1 bell pepper. It was SO amazing! -- But a bit on the spicy side for my taste. Could have been the sub for chile paste, Im not sure, but I couldnt find it at the store. Either way, I will make this again and again! My kids and husband -- all vegetable-hating individuals-- DEVOURED it and asked for more! I was for sure they would stick up there noses to it because of all the vegis but they didnt! Thanks for this tasty, and easy recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Totally LOVED this!! Made it for my family which includes one VERY picky 13yr. old and he ate it with gusto!! I used prepackaged coleslaw mix instead of buying and cutting up a whole cabbage. I used chili powder & crushed red pepper flakes instead of the chili paste. I also used 1/4 cup soy sauce when cooking the chicken but added 1/4 cup teryaki sauce with the vegetables. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very tasty and easy to prepare. Did not have chili paste so I used crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was a really good recipe. I used leftover turkey in mine but I plan upon following the recipe exactly for the next shot. I discovered that the soba noodles need a lot of rinsing for this to work. You need to wash off all the starch or the noodle will stick together. There is a good how-to on the website justhungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Yummy, yummy!! I made this tonight and it was so good! It smelled good as I was making it too! I ommited the cabbage because I didn't have any. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful. I did just add half of the chili paste because it would've been too hot for me. The only thing I was wondering about would be if the chicken needed a little bit of salt or some kind of seasoning. When I was eating the chicken with the noodles it seemed like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
3.5 stars. I liked it, but it didn't really wow me and didn't taste much like the yakisoba you'd find in teriyaki joints, which was what I was expecting this to taste like. I did buy a bottle of tonkatsu sauce instead of making the sauce from scratch, used vegetable oil instead of canola oil, and used mushrooms instead of cabbage (not a fan of it). I'll make the recipe again if I'm feeling in the mood for yakisoba, have the ingredients on hand, and feel too cheap to go out and order the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made this without the noodles, served it with asian flavored quinoa instead... I used olive oil because it was all I had on hand, skipped the chile paste and used some red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper instead, I also added broccoli, chopped red bell pepper, and chopped mushroom. With all that, a definite 5!!! Even my vegetable picky husband liked it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Yakisoba

See how to make Japanese yakisoba stir-fry with chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States