Yakisoba Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I've made this twice and we loved it! I couldn't find chili paste, so substituted the same amount of Thai style chili sauce. I couldn’t find soba noodles, so substituted the same amount of lo mein noodles. I used “less sodium” soy sauce and cut the amount in half (1/4 cup). I prefer it without the chicken so will make it that way from now on. Thank you for introducing me to new flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I have to be honest... I made lots of changes to this recipe, but it was outstanding!! I used the ground fresh chili paste with garlic and added an extra teaspoon or so, I added a splash of teriyaki and miran to the soy sauce, and I added many fresh vegetables, including baby corn, sugar peas and water chestnuts. I also added a 1/4 cup of chicken broth at the end to get more sauce. I will be making this a lot - my boyfriend couldn't stop eating it, it was addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I did this for a college project, It was a hit! Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was really good! I’ve never had Yakisoba Noodles before so I can’t comment on how authentic it was, but this tasted like a lighter, spicier, lo mien to me. I did make a few changes because of what I was trying to get rid of in my fridge plus I figured this recipe was pretty forgiving anyway. I added celery because I had some that I wanted to use up. I also added some white wine to the sauce because I had some leftover in the fridge. I used rice noodles because I didn’t want to go out shopping and I subbed red pepper flakes for chili paste for the same reason. I tasted the sauce right before serving it, and decided that the salty almost sweet flavor could benefit from some tangy lemon juice (plus I had a half a lemon I wanted to use up). That was a great addition: it really made the flavors meld and pop. This was effortless for how tasty it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
i didnt think this tasted like yakisoba at all. first of all, chile paste is not japanese. second, it's way too spicy to be a yakisoba. i didn't use cabbage (not a fan), so instead i used frozen chopped spinach (thawed and squeezed of excess water). it was so spicy, but if you're into spicy food, it's good. i didn't have soba noodles on hand, so i used 8 oz. of somen instead, which worked out fine. i only used the first 1/4 cup of soy sauce because it tasted fine, and i didn't think i needed the other 1/4 cup. i would make this again, but reduce the amount of chile paste big time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle B
Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
As someone who has never tasted an "authentic" version of this dish, this recipe is an absolute homerun! I've made it with Udon noodles as well as Thai rice sticks, and it is always wonderful. I see no need to cook the ingredients separately and suggest sauteing the onions, garlic, and carrots in the oil/chili sauce until the onions are translucent. Then toss in the chicken and soy sauce and cook until the chicken is cooked through. Finally, I add the noodles and a whole bag of Trader Joe's shredded cabbage and mix it all together just until the cabbage it heated through--about a minute or two. It's perfect and delicious. Note: I use Hunan chili sauce (potent!) instead of chili paste so I only use 1 Tbsp. I still cry, but only a little. :) Update: My feelings remain unchanged, but my husband who is very salt sensitive, can't even eat this dish. :( Use low sodium soy sauce. But even then, it might not be tolerable for some. Oh well, more for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Made this for a party. It was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schasel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Couldn't find soba noodles so used udon instead. I should've just left out the noodles all together and just did the veggies and the chicken w/ some white rice. The flavor was really nice and I don't think it was too spicy at all. I used chili & garlic sauce. Only had an onion for the veggies. It was a bit salty, but I think with more vegs, such as broccoli & cabbage and maybe some zucchini next time, that will help disperse the saltiness better. So overall, really good flavor, but next time will just have it with rice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
woah, watch the chili paste ! Our mouths were on fire...I did find chili paste in the Asian Food Market and it is spicy...warning if you find some start with 1/2 tsp rather than 2 tbsp. The dish was soo spicy that our toddler couldn't bare another bite and my husbands and I's noses were running.... I would make it again just using waaaaay less chili sauce !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Yakisoba

See how to make Japanese yakisoba stir-fry with chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States