Wylma's Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I love breakfast casseroles, but this one was lacking something. The texture was a bit doughy and the flavor was a bit bland. I served it with salsa to add some oomph. I did have to substitute chives for the green onions because that was all I had. It took a bit of coaxing to get it out of my well oiled bundt pan too. Not a bad recipe, but not one I will repeat. Too bad, because it looked lovely for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I'm absolutely in love with this receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zarilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I add a can of diced green chilis, diced red peppers and only use 2 and a half cups of milkthis really makes it great! On the baking time, this is very good however you have to bake it about 20 minutes longer than it says for it to get done unless you make it into breakfast muffins then decrease the time to about 23-27 minutes, depending on your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kay Clinkenbeard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Colorado, USA
Living In: Goltry, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Followed directions exactly.... except I halved the recipe and used 2 bread pans. The taste was great! The texture was of a heavy moist bread. I will probally make this again, we served this with peach smoothies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
The flavor is GOOD but my toothpick came out clean but when I turned it over on my rack...egg mixture poured out all over my counter. I baked about another hour and then enjoyed! (BTW, I used Pamela's GF baking & pancake mix for the baking mix!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I tried this as is...and it was ok. I made some changes and tweaked and this is how I found it to be the best. 1. I ommitted the cream cheese all together. I added an extra cup of shreded cheese and 3 extra eggs. I also made this once in my muffin tin and it was great this way. I froze the muffins and now I can pull on out and microwave it real quick and have quick hot breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This looked great when I read the recipe, but as much as I love cream cheese I won't put it in again. I didn't have cheddar cheese so I couldn't add that, but next time I'll be sure to add cheddar, salt and pepper and definitely OMIT the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Gayle Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Smelled wonderful, but not enough flavor. A cross between bread and quiche. I halved the recipe and used 2 loaf dishes, cooked perfectly in 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Nice change for breakfast. I didn't have any green onions, so i skipped those. I think it would have been nice with them but I don't think I would add the whole cup. The only other changes I made were to cut some calories. I used reduced fat cream cheese, replaced half of the eggs with egg beaters and used skim milk. It was more egg-like and I was expecting more of a bread consistency, but it was still very good. It makes alot. I made 2 loaves and 9 muffins. (if you make muffins...don't fill it too far, when it rises the egg spills over the top)UPDATE: Because it is titled "bread" I(without thinking) treated it as a bread and stored it in ziplock bags and plastic wrap and put it in the bread box--2 days later it was DISGUSTING!!!(rotton & molded) Store this in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was good. I will make it again, but it took almost twice as long to cook as it was supposed to. Also, it's very dense, I think next time I'll make it in a casserole dish...it stuck to the sides of my bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Swigart Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States