Wow! Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
What a gem of a recipe!!! I needed a sweet and sour sauce to go along with meatballs and rice. I was unable to find my handwritten stand by recipe, so I found this one online. (The only ingredient not added was the steak sauce as I didn't have any.)It was an instant hit with the family, I don't think I will bother searching for the old one again. I made a second double batch after supper and canned it for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I scaled the ingrediants down to 3 servings, but still had tons left over after serving with egg rolls. However, if was using this as a sauce to top veggies, meat and rice or what not, amount of sauce would be good. I added maybe 1oz of pineapple tibits that I crushed, instead of the 4oz that were called for. Also doubled the red pepper flakes, as we like spicy stuff. Boiled for 5 minutes, then removed from heat. Definately cool this sauce before serving if using for egg rolls as a dipping sauce. My other half raved that it was better than jarred stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Wow is right! No more store bought sweet-n-sour sauce for us! This was so good I made another batch so it would be ready for our next stir-fry night! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jungledrums

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Perfect! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Hubby said it was amazing about 10 times tonight! Thank you for an awesome recipe that I will be using many times over. Only thing I did not add was the hot spices and I used fresh pineapple instead of canned..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmullenaux
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Absolutely WOW! We had to make a couple of substitutions so we could use what we had on hand: 1) crushed pineapple instead of tidbits, 2) rice vinegar instead of distilled white, and 3) one little packet of pepper flakes from the local pizza chain store instead of the full teaspoon. We used it as a dipping sauce with pork eggrolls and even tried it on sweet potato fries. The results: this is hands down the BEST sweet and sour sauce we've ever tasted!! This will definitely be our go-to recipe from now on. Thank you for sharing your recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
So yummy!!!! I didn't put in cayenne or steak sauce... and halved the red pepper flakes. But that's just because I don't like spicy. But it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.kyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
WOW, WOW and WOW! I made this super sauce last night and everyone was unanimous - a definite keeper. The only ingredient I omitted was the steak sauce. My daughter is somewhat picky about new recipes I try but this one is a winner. Thanks for sharing it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is recipe I've needed for year, it's spot on! I used crushed pineapple since I had 1/2 20 oz. can left from another recipe, other then that I followed as is. Thanks Nana Nat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juniebugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Just fantastic. Won't be buying store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States