Wow! Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is the sweet and sour recipe that I've been looking for! It really is sweet and sour not just sweet with more sweet. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmullenaux
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Absolutely WOW! We had to make a couple of substitutions so we could use what we had on hand: 1) crushed pineapple instead of tidbits, 2) rice vinegar instead of distilled white, and 3) one little packet of pepper flakes from the local pizza chain store instead of the full teaspoon. We used it as a dipping sauce with pork eggrolls and even tried it on sweet potato fries. The results: this is hands down the BEST sweet and sour sauce we've ever tasted!! This will definitely be our go-to recipe from now on. Thank you for sharing your recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was very good. My nine year old said it was "spot on"! I left out the pepper flakes and just used the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
A wonderfully delicious sweet and sour sauce!! My variation is slight: I used apple cider vinegar instead of the white vinegar. I omitted the steak sauce and used Worcestershire Sauce instead. I added a little bit of ground ginger and garlic powder to taste. --> that's it! Otherwise I followed this recipe to a tee! I also cut the recipe in half since I am single and stored the left over in a jar in the refrigerator for another night. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaureDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Wow is right! No more store bought sweet-n-sour sauce for us! This was so good I made another batch so it would be ready for our next stir-fry night! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jungledrums

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Made this sweet & sour sauce tonight with some chicken and rice and the entire family loved it. Said it was comparable to that of our local Chinese restaurant's homemade sauce. Just a small alteration we made was to use fresh pineapple, rather than the canned (we mashed up the fresh to get some of the juices out, then tossed it all in). Also, since my daughters are 4 and 5 yrs old, they have no tolerance for anything remotely spicy, so we left out the red pepper flakes...but somehow were able to sneak the dash of hot pepper sauce by them :) Oh, also, for our family we cut this recipe in half and still had a good amount leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Awesome sauce! I followed the recommendations of other reviewers, and cut the sugar to just a bit more than a cup, maybe a "heaping" cup. Only a pinch of red pepper flakes, too. We will DEFINITELY use this recipe again! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Priester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Wonderful! I halved and still have a huge batch. So quick and simple - will definately be a new fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
My family is in LOVE with this sauce! Omitted the pepper flakes, used Worcestershire in place of steak sauce and used crushed pineapple in place of tidbits. They like it better than takeout! Thank you Nana! 10 stars for this dipping nectar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
very good, will make again...It's important with this recipe to follow it. I've read so many reviews, that had changed things....how do you make SWEET without the sweet...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States