Wow! Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was great! I'll never buy store bought S&S again! I used fresh pineapple and didn't add any steak sauce, but other than that I followed the directions to the letter. Easily a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PowerPointGuru

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I needed a quick dipping sauce for my Coconut shrimp. This sauce was the perfect compliment! I couldn't believe we had all of the ingredients in the panrty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My husband and I had this with Fried Rice I and enjoyed it. If I make this again, I will add less ketchup. The flavor of the sauce was good but I could definitely taste the ketchup in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was really good and easy to adjust for your personal taste. I would have preferred it to be a little thicker so next time I will add more cornstarch. Also, this made A LOT. My family of four has now used it for two meals and we still have a large amount left. This will definitely be my go-to recipe for sweet and sour sauce from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I was trying to make this gluten free so I left out the soy sauce, steak sauce, and cayenne pepper sauce. It was still a wonderful sauce and there was plenty of it! Loved it and will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEKI1
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Perfect! It was just what I was looking for. I had to sub in crushed pineapple and worcestershire sauce instead of steak sauce since didn't know I was out of it until I started cooking which is funny b/c I didn't know I was out of store bought sweet and sour sauce until the lumpia was cooked! It was quick and easy and of course delish~! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
A wonderfully delicious sweet and sour sauce!! My variation is slight: I used apple cider vinegar instead of the white vinegar. I omitted the steak sauce and used Worcestershire Sauce instead. I added a little bit of ground ginger and garlic powder to taste. --> that's it! Otherwise I followed this recipe to a tee! I also cut the recipe in half since I am single and stored the left over in a jar in the refrigerator for another night. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaureDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It is the BEST! Does not need to add or take any thing away. After all it is Sweet and Sour Sauce. Maybe less pepper for the kids. This will be my only recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly since it was my first time making it. My pickiest eater LOVED it! My whole family loved it. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phylicia Dawn Riggins
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So good! I didn't have any cayenne pepper, it's more sweet that way anyway. Tested like Panda Express Sweet and sour sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States