Wow! Sweet and Sour Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Don't usually review, but just used this recipe and really loved it, I did leave out the spice but made a great dipping for our spring rolls. Thank :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is a great sauce. I was surprised that I had almost all the base ingredients with a few alterations. I used crushed pineapple, Heinz 57 steak sauce, and Frank's Red hot sauce instead cayenne. Made as directed and was worried that it was too much sauce add it to pork. And I was right. This makes about 4 cups of sauce. I used about 1/2 the sauce and that was a lot still. Usually I double the sauce, but this, I would have to 1/2 the recipe next time and use more pineapple juice than water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Excellent! I made this to accompany some Spring Rolls I made from this site. Rave reviews from everyone who tried the combo. I added a little more red pepper flakes because we are more of a fan of spicy than we are of sweet .... I kept leftovers and made sweet and sour pork a couple of days later. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Amazing sauce! My husband was very impressed. It tasted so close to a sweet & sour sauce at our favorite Chinese place. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made this tonight with brown rice, cauliflower , peppers, onions, chicken and broccoli! ITS PERFECT! Best sweet and sour sauce! Nice spice to it and easy to follow to directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
My family is in LOVE with this sauce! Omitted the pepper flakes, used Worcestershire in place of steak sauce and used crushed pineapple in place of tidbits. They like it better than takeout! Thank you Nana! 10 stars for this dipping nectar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Pretty close, it worked as a dipping sauce for the crab rangoon I made tonight... it was a little spicy in comparison to restaurant versions, so I'll tone it down with the crushed red pepper next time... I used less than specified and it was still too spicy... i also had to use more cornstarch, and I think it could have used more vinegar or something, but it's probably my own fault for substituting straight pineapple juice instead of the tidbits! Any which way, I bookmarked this and will try it again, after I use up the vat of sauce I have leftover! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Finneran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Not really all that good. I was looking for an authentic sweet and sour and this one just didn't have the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
So I have declared that this sauce is AMAZING! The only thing I don't like is the steak sauce......So I just don't put that in. I cut this in half and that's with a family of 2 Adults and 2 Children and we love our sauces! There is SO much left over sauce... I make 2 large chicken breast and one small one with another recipe on here for sweet and sour chicken! Good Luck and thanks for this yummy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwo247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States