World's Greatest Vegetable Broth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this to use for my Thanksgiving turkey stuffing. I added mushrooms because I love them. Going to chop and freeze the leftover roasted veggies to use in turkey meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Absolutely the best - adds rich flavors to recipes. Originally I made it to brine a turkey - worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I add my superlatives to everyone else's. This recipe certainly takes longer, but there's no substitute for the flavor imparted by roasting the veggies first. Slight modification: I added about a fist-sized sweet potato to the recipe, too, and used fewer tomatoes than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
As a recently converted vegetarian I really loved this recipe too. It's richness of flavor satisfies my occassional meat tooth. I too cut back on the parsley (not a big fan). I also added a few DRIED Shitake mushrooms which gave the broth an even richer and more meaty (beefy) flavor. I know that isn't something that longterm vegetarians care about but it might be helpful to meat eaters who want to become vegetarians but need a flavorful way to wean themselves from the flavor of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made the broth as directed. It is really quite nice - the flavor is wonderful. I'm using it as a base for a kale and white bean soup recipe elsewhere on this site. As others have mentioned the roasting vegetables create a lovely aroma. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
THANKS FOR THIS RECIPE I NEEDED VEGETABLE BROTH FOR MY TURKEY BRINE. I USED THE LEFTOVER BROTH AND VEGGIES TO MAKE A POT A SOUP FOR MY KIDS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This veggie broth turned out great! However, I'd recommend only roasting the vegetables in the oven for about 1/2 an hour. The veggies would have been burned if I would have cooked them for over an hour as the recipe listed. (My oven is calibrated correctly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I made this in a crock pot all day and the broth came out too bland for me to eat by itself. I ended up using it for veggie pot pie which was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I didn't think this vegetable broth was as impressive as the other reviewers, it was good but... I didn't have clove but I can imagine that would be the difference between okay and great. The vegetables roasting made the house smell really good which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Roasting the veggies gave a nice caramel color and rich flavor. No turnips or gr. peppers, but still lots of good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States