World's Greatest Vegetable Broth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This broth was okay. I think since I'm not a huge fan of cooked carrots and celery, that did it in for me. My boyfriend liked it a lot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I liked this soup alot. The only change I made was I didn't add turnips but I added a roast to it. Making it a beef/veg soup. I think it is rather bland so next time I will add more spices. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bekkah
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
A very good broth. I used a yam instead of turnips and added 2 Thai chili peppers, but otherwise made it pretty much as described. The yam made the soup quite sweet and I had to add a considerable amount of salt to cut the sweetness. The chilis were VERY hot and made the soup quite spicy which I personally loved, though others may not. I added extra of all the spices (pepper, clove, garlic) and I think that without the chilis, I would not have liked this soup very much (I think it would have been too bland) which is why I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 stars. But the combination of sweet, salty and spicy made the soup quite good. I ground up the veggies the next day and mixed them with oatmeal and eggs and made a ton of veggie burgers which were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekkah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this to use for my Thanksgiving turkey stuffing. I added mushrooms because I love them. Going to chop and freeze the leftover roasted veggies to use in turkey meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Absolutely the best - adds rich flavors to recipes. Originally I made it to brine a turkey - worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I add my superlatives to everyone else's. This recipe certainly takes longer, but there's no substitute for the flavor imparted by roasting the veggies first. Slight modification: I added about a fist-sized sweet potato to the recipe, too, and used fewer tomatoes than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
As a recently converted vegetarian I really loved this recipe too. It's richness of flavor satisfies my occassional meat tooth. I too cut back on the parsley (not a big fan). I also added a few DRIED Shitake mushrooms which gave the broth an even richer and more meaty (beefy) flavor. I know that isn't something that longterm vegetarians care about but it might be helpful to meat eaters who want to become vegetarians but need a flavorful way to wean themselves from the flavor of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made the broth as directed. It is really quite nice - the flavor is wonderful. I'm using it as a base for a kale and white bean soup recipe elsewhere on this site. As others have mentioned the roasting vegetables create a lovely aroma. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
THANKS FOR THIS RECIPE I NEEDED VEGETABLE BROTH FOR MY TURKEY BRINE. I USED THE LEFTOVER BROTH AND VEGGIES TO MAKE A POT A SOUP FOR MY KIDS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This veggie broth turned out great! However, I'd recommend only roasting the vegetables in the oven for about 1/2 an hour. The veggies would have been burned if I would have cooked them for over an hour as the recipe listed. (My oven is calibrated correctly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States