World's Greatest Vegetable Broth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
So it's a lot of time to make this, but it was delicious. I modified the recipe using veggies on hand (no turnips but asparagus, broccoli). After it straining I pureed the veggie chunks and added them back to the broth with black beans, corn (fresh off the cob)and a can of diced tomatoes (drained). The result was a delicious creamy all veggie soup that my family loved. Served with crusty baguette and we are all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
tried it twice, without the turnip... made a huge batch the second time, canned it with my pressure cooker in quart jars. use it for rice and soups, or when ever I need broth. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This stock was excellent and easy to make. After stock cooked down, I took vegetables out and pureed in my food processor. I added back in the pureed vegetables, added a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and basil, some kale and white beans and a dash of red pepper flakes. This made a really great soup. Excellent and thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Really good stock! This is a HUGE recipe though - I do a lot of cooking, and I do not have a pot big enough for this stock! I used both of my soup pots, and that worked. It is an awful lot of shopping and chopping and peeling for a couple of ice cube trays of stock in the end, and I think the veggie puree will take longer to use up than the stock itself. Next time I would use only two cloves instead of three, I would replace the green peppers with yellow or orange ones, and I would not add more turnips than called for. Overall, very healthy and tasty stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I'm on my first day of a liquid fast using Almaded protein shakes, and they recommend drinking homemade vegetable broth to help with hunger between shakes, so I Googled and found this recipe. I started simmering this about 45 minutes ago, and couldn't wait to try it because I'm a bit hungry (mid-afternoon). The broth is already very flavorful, am eager to taste the final result! I added a can of diced tomatoes, 1 parsnip, 3 zucchini and 1 large sweet potato to what the recipe calls for. I also added lots of rosemary and garlic powder to the veggies as they roasted. To the soup pot I added minced garlic instead of whole cloves, and ground cloves instead of whole because that's what I had on hand. EDIT 2/9/2014: I added balsamic vinegar after cooking, and it gave it an amazing zing to the already delicious flavor. The veggies taste fantastic, and I'm going to puree & freeze them to add to future soups, sauces and dishes. I will use this same recipe again and again, chopping the veggies smaller and adding proteins and grains for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
True to its name, this IS the Worlds Greatest Veg broth. I've been using this recipe for almost eight years now, in fact i very rarely make chicken stock anymore which is a blessing because this is so much easier (and cleaner) The only change I make is I like to include sweet potato. and instead of just tossing the veg in olive oil I use a mixture of olive oil and tomato paste, it gives it more richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn DiMarco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Awesome, complex flavors are a perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I've made it twice now. I use whatever vegetables I have on hand, even rhubarb! I use this recipe as a guideline - I added ginger and tumeric, garam masala, and tumeric and left out the bay leaves the second time. Way super good! I like this recipe more than others; I think it's browning the veggies first that makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Made this as the broth for my matzo ball soup as my vegetarian son can't eat chicken soup. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Yum! Based on the positive reviews, I made a double batch. I didn't use any oil and roasted a half head of garlic with the vegetables. Used cilantro in place of parsley. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States