World's Greatest Vegetable Broth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
tried it twice, without the turnip... made a huge batch the second time, canned it with my pressure cooker in quart jars. use it for rice and soups, or when ever I need broth. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This stock was excellent and easy to make. After stock cooked down, I took vegetables out and pureed in my food processor. I added back in the pureed vegetables, added a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and basil, some kale and white beans and a dash of red pepper flakes. This made a really great soup. Excellent and thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Really good stock! This is a HUGE recipe though - I do a lot of cooking, and I do not have a pot big enough for this stock! I used both of my soup pots, and that worked. It is an awful lot of shopping and chopping and peeling for a couple of ice cube trays of stock in the end, and I think the veggie puree will take longer to use up than the stock itself. Next time I would use only two cloves instead of three, I would replace the green peppers with yellow or orange ones, and I would not add more turnips than called for. Overall, very healthy and tasty stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I'm on my first day of a liquid fast using Almaded protein shakes, and they recommend drinking homemade vegetable broth to help with hunger between shakes, so I Googled and found this recipe. I started simmering this about 45 minutes ago, and couldn't wait to try it because I'm a bit hungry (mid-afternoon). The broth is already very flavorful, am eager to taste the final result! I added a can of diced tomatoes, 1 parsnip, 3 zucchini and 1 large sweet potato to what the recipe calls for. I also added lots of rosemary and garlic powder to the veggies as they roasted. To the soup pot I added minced garlic instead of whole cloves, and ground cloves instead of whole because that's what I had on hand. EDIT 2/9/2014: I added balsamic vinegar after cooking, and it gave it an amazing zing to the already delicious flavor. The veggies taste fantastic, and I'm going to puree & freeze them to add to future soups, sauces and dishes. I will use this same recipe again and again, chopping the veggies smaller and adding proteins and grains for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
True to its name, this IS the Worlds Greatest Veg broth. I've been using this recipe for almost eight years now, in fact i very rarely make chicken stock anymore which is a blessing because this is so much easier (and cleaner) The only change I make is I like to include sweet potato. and instead of just tossing the veg in olive oil I use a mixture of olive oil and tomato paste, it gives it more richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn DiMarco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Awesome, complex flavors are a perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I've made it twice now. I use whatever vegetables I have on hand, even rhubarb! I use this recipe as a guideline - I added ginger and tumeric, garam masala, and tumeric and left out the bay leaves the second time. Way super good! I like this recipe more than others; I think it's browning the veggies first that makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Made this as the broth for my matzo ball soup as my vegetarian son can't eat chicken soup. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Yum! Based on the positive reviews, I made a double batch. I didn't use any oil and roasted a half head of garlic with the vegetables. Used cilantro in place of parsley. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This made a very rich broth. I followed the recipe exactly except for using slightly less tomatoes and bell peppers, just using what I had on hand. I think the broth is much richer and more flavorful than canned, so you can get by with using less in your recipes. I used only half as much as called for in a vegetable soup recipe, and added water for the remainder. It turned out just fine. Don't let the vegetables go to waste. I puree them, and then freeze them by scooping 1/2 cup of pureed vegetables into snack size baggies. I add one of these portions anytime I make a soup, stew, or even spaghetti sauce. It gives some added flavor and nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States