World's Greatest Vegetable Broth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This stock was excellent and easy to make. After stock cooked down, I took vegetables out and pureed in my food processor. I added back in the pureed vegetables, added a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and basil, some kale and white beans and a dash of red pepper flakes. This made a really great soup. Excellent and thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Really good stock! This is a HUGE recipe though - I do a lot of cooking, and I do not have a pot big enough for this stock! I used both of my soup pots, and that worked. It is an awful lot of shopping and chopping and peeling for a couple of ice cube trays of stock in the end, and I think the veggie puree will take longer to use up than the stock itself. Next time I would use only two cloves instead of three, I would replace the green peppers with yellow or orange ones, and I would not add more turnips than called for. Overall, very healthy and tasty stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I'm on my first day of a liquid fast using Almaded protein shakes, and they recommend drinking homemade vegetable broth to help with hunger between shakes, so I Googled and found this recipe. I started simmering this about 45 minutes ago, and couldn't wait to try it because I'm a bit hungry (mid-afternoon). The broth is already very flavorful, am eager to taste the final result! I added a can of diced tomatoes, 1 parsnip, 3 zucchini and 1 large sweet potato to what the recipe calls for. I also added lots of rosemary and garlic powder to the veggies as they roasted. To the soup pot I added minced garlic instead of whole cloves, and ground cloves instead of whole because that's what I had on hand. EDIT 2/9/2014: I added balsamic vinegar after cooking, and it gave it an amazing zing to the already delicious flavor. The veggies taste fantastic, and I'm going to puree & freeze them to add to future soups, sauces and dishes. I will use this same recipe again and again, chopping the veggies smaller and adding proteins and grains for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
True to its name, this IS the Worlds Greatest Veg broth. I've been using this recipe for almost eight years now, in fact i very rarely make chicken stock anymore which is a blessing because this is so much easier (and cleaner) The only change I make is I like to include sweet potato. and instead of just tossing the veg in olive oil I use a mixture of olive oil and tomato paste, it gives it more richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn DiMarco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Awesome, complex flavors are a perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I've made it twice now. I use whatever vegetables I have on hand, even rhubarb! I use this recipe as a guideline - I added ginger and tumeric, garam masala, and tumeric and left out the bay leaves the second time. Way super good! I like this recipe more than others; I think it's browning the veggies first that makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Made this as the broth for my matzo ball soup as my vegetarian son can't eat chicken soup. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Yum! Based on the positive reviews, I made a double batch. I didn't use any oil and roasted a half head of garlic with the vegetables. Used cilantro in place of parsley. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This made a very rich broth. I followed the recipe exactly except for using slightly less tomatoes and bell peppers, just using what I had on hand. I think the broth is much richer and more flavorful than canned, so you can get by with using less in your recipes. I used only half as much as called for in a vegetable soup recipe, and added water for the remainder. It turned out just fine. Don't let the vegetables go to waste. I puree them, and then freeze them by scooping 1/2 cup of pureed vegetables into snack size baggies. I add one of these portions anytime I make a soup, stew, or even spaghetti sauce. It gives some added flavor and nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Loved this broth! I have always made my own chicken stock, but I am trying to cut out the cholesterol from meals so I opted to try to make my base for soups and rice with a vegetable base instead. I followed the recipe mostly but I did add a some garlic power and additional garlic cloves. I did not have any cloves so I substituted with some allspice. Just a suggestion, make sure that you have atleast 4 & half hours to spend on this because it takes over an hour to roast all of the vegetables and about 3 hours to reduce the broth down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Vegetable Pizza I

This tasty party pizza is like creamy veggie dip in pizza form!

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States