World's Greatest Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Unfortunately, I have to agree with all the negative comments about this recipe. They have got to be THE greasiest cookies EVER and they weren't cookies ... it was just one giant, extremely thin, cookie-like mess on the baking pan (it did taste good if you didn't mind allll the grease). They spread out far too thin - I could hardly scrape them off the cookie sheet. Would never make again. Even my husband rated them 1/5 and he is a cookie monster. :) My advice to you - keep searching for the perfect chewy cookie recipe - unfortunately, this one isn't worth the time or expense. If you did want any of the cookie mess, you had to eat with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPORTSNUT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I thought these were very tasty. However when making them I have learned to add more chips to your desire and also refrigerate the dough for 15 minutes before baking so they don't spread so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2000
I have never been able to make chocolate chip cookies stay chewy, but I followed these directions exactly and they came out exactly like they should be -- a little crispy on the edges and nice and chewy on the inside. MMMMmm! The only slight change I'll make next time is, I'll stir the chocolate chips right in with the batter, just to make it easier on myself. These are a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
my husband absolutely dies for these cookies! I tried changing a few things, and he sure didnt eat as many!! Fabulous recipe! thanks!! Months later and we are still loving these cookies!! dont know what the rest of you are doing wrong to wreck them! maybe the altitude? I know my recipe's in Africa do NOT turn out the same in Canada!!! Try using more flour or something? I live in Dawson Creek BC in Canada, and these are excellent cookies! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These cookies are pretty good when baked as described. They are VERY buttery, so next time I will reduce the butter a little. Also, they definitely need more chocolate chips so I mixed some in the batter and then placed a few more on top. These cookies bake very flat, so be sure to keep your dough balls small and widely spaced, or it will spread too much in the pan and you'll end up with one giant cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This is the worst recipe I have ever encountered. I followed her recipe exactly as described (I don't like making changes to a recipe used for the first time). The cookies turned out thin and broke apart when I tried to spatula them from the pan. They spread out too far in the pan. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
they were horrible it seemes you might as well eat a cup of butter. They were way too flat. I would not recomemd this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
Yummy Yummy! I loved the cookies and so did my husband. The only thing I did differently was put the chocolate chips within the batter, i found that a lot easier. But other than that it was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
It was an ok recipe, but the cookies didn't come out soft at all, they were really crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
This is NOT the world's best cookie. Not enough chocolat chips, but the way they spread in the pan, I don't think I would add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States