World's Best Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Cornstarch makes the waffles crispier. I have seen it in waffle recipes before. I substituted buttermilk because I had some to get rid of and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
It wouldn't let me rate them less than one star. I didn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
1/2 cup cornstarch...you're kidding me. It amazes me how a recipe can have such opposing reviews. There are much easier, tastier waffle recipes on this website. Unless you love the taste of cornstarch and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
More challenging to make than your traditional waffle, but definitely worth the work. I also had problems with the waffles sticking to the iron, though. Any ideas for preventing this? I brushed the iron with oil between each set of waffles. Still, I think they're worth the extra work and bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Was in the mood for waffle adn not those frozen things. I added and extra tablespoon of vanilla. My hubby says"god, don't lose this recipe" 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I thought they were fantastic. The first one I pulled off the iron was incredible light and fluffy and just crisp on the outside. I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Luckily I read the reviews before I made this. I really think the cornstarch is supposed to be CORNMEAL. That is what I used. I also added about a half cup more of flour to thicken up the batter. Waffles were still kind of bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
the kids love it there bestest says my son
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary VanSickel
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
i just finished eating them. they were OK, i saw that some people gave it 1 star reveiws so had to see the truth for myself. They were kinda dry, and stuck to the iron a little. They definetly werent easy to make. i think that aunt jemimah waffles taste better though. I probably wont make them again without modifying the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This recipe is good, but I hate to say not the best. It is your basic waffle recipe, only a bit more cornstarch than most recipes... but the flavor didn't seem to be affected by it. It is best for the occasion when you're making a special topping for them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States