World's Best Vegan Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
These are really good and you can't tell they are vegan! I was out of eggs and my kids really wanted pancakes, so that is how I ran accross this recipe. I did not have self-rising flour so I used all purpose and added 2 tsp baking soda, 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1 tsp salt. I used vanilla soy milk. The batter was really thick so I added another cup of soy milk. It made a really nice fluffy pancake. I could have probably added another cup of soy milk to thin it out a bit. I never would have thought of using my custard mix for this but it is really good. thanks for the 'eggless' pancake. You made my kids happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Timothy Tang
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
The Bird's Custard powder that I use in this part of Asia is totally vegan. You can replace vegan custard powder by using 1 tbsp cornstarch and 1 tsp chickpea flour for the yellow color. Check out my updated recipe, The World's Best Vegan Pancakes II. * 1 cup of flour * 1 tbsp. of vegan sugar * 1/2 tsp. of baking powder * 1/2 tsp. of baking soda * 1 tbsp. of cornstarch * 1 tbsp. of chickpea flour(for color) * 1 cup of non-GMO soy milk at room temperature * 2 tbsp. of oil -written on Dec 1st 2010
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothy Tang

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
When you add more milk (about 1/2 cup at least), these really are the BEST vegan pancakes we've made! No custard powder to be found here so we subbed the equal amount of vanilla pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Wow! I was so convinced by others reviews that I searched all shopping stores in my area, including whole foods and natural markets, and not one carried custard powder, so I bought it online! I was not disappointed! We are vegetarians who don't eat eggs, organic cruelty-free dairy sometimes, but definitely no eggs, so we have been missing pancakes, a old favorite is back! I did add more milk though, 1 cup more. I can't wait to make them again and add berries! Thank you so much for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I forgot to add that the batter thickness is up to one to decide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Finally a pancake we can eat! We're not vegan, but need egg-free recipes and I can't tell you how many awful pancakes we've suffered through before these. I made them the first time using the self-rising flour recipe on this site and they were really awful still -- way too salty. I didn't want to write a review until I tried them again because it didn't seem fair. Made them again this morning w/self-rising flour and they were fantastic! I did have to use 1 1/2 c.(!) additional milk, but I guess I just like my batter much thinner. The custard powder is brilliant! (used Dr. Oetker's vanilla pudding as that's what was in the house) I think they're better than regular pancakes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
make um runny or they will be too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I made these today, they were wonderful. We added some dried fruit to the recipes too, and it tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pontypridd, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Very good, though I added 1 tablespoon vanilla and some cinnamon, and I couldn't find any custard powder so I settled for using vanilla pudding mix. I halfed the recipe, but still had to use 2 cups of soy milk and about 1/4 cup water. Turned out great though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-Rock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
These are fantastic!! (I added a bit more soya milk than the recipe said to make them thinner). They really are just like normal pancakes - the custard powder gives them a slightly sweet flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States