World's Best Vegan Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Finally a pancake we can eat! We're not vegan, but need egg-free recipes and I can't tell you how many awful pancakes we've suffered through before these. I made them the first time using the self-rising flour recipe on this site and they were really awful still -- way too salty. I didn't want to write a review until I tried them again because it didn't seem fair. Made them again this morning w/self-rising flour and they were fantastic! I did have to use 1 1/2 c.(!) additional milk, but I guess I just like my batter much thinner. The custard powder is brilliant! (used Dr. Oetker's vanilla pudding as that's what was in the house) I think they're better than regular pancakes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
These were great! I used vanilla soy milk, all purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and Doctor Oetker Pudding Mix. I did add more milk than suggested. I decorated with fresh fruits and enjoyed the pancakes with maple syrup. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This was ok, my husband loved it because they were chewy. I didnt like it so much. Im not sure whether this is because I made the batter to thick, or I added a mashed banana to the mix, or I used rice milk. Either way they were ok and I will try and improve on them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurasaur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Wow! I was so convinced by others reviews that I searched all shopping stores in my area, including whole foods and natural markets, and not one carried custard powder, so I bought it online! I was not disappointed! We are vegetarians who don't eat eggs, organic cruelty-free dairy sometimes, but definitely no eggs, so we have been missing pancakes, a old favorite is back! I did add more milk though, 1 cup more. I can't wait to make them again and add berries! Thank you so much for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Great recipe, just needed a little tweaking. More soy or rice milk plus a little water. I am going to experiment with adding something else to make it a little lighter (baking soda? baking powder?). I added fresh blueberries to the mix and it turned out very nice. Thanks to the recipe creator for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
These are fantastic. My mother who has cancer is avoiding dairy and sugar so we left the sugar out. They still taste great with some Manuka Honey on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
make um runny or they will be too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
These were great. My little boy is allergic to milk and eggs and I thought pancakes would be definitely out for him but these tasted just like the real thing. They certainly needed more milk. I used rice milk by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I made these today, they were wonderful. We added some dried fruit to the recipes too, and it tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pontypridd, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
When you add more milk (about 1/2 cup at least), these really are the BEST vegan pancakes we've made! No custard powder to be found here so we subbed the equal amount of vanilla pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States