World's Best Vegan Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Unlike the majority of other reviewers I was completely unimpressed with this recipe. I made a couple pancakes but the results were so blah that I tweaked the batter until it didn't resemble the original recipe in any way except for the custard powder - that is great! Thanks for that idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Doesn't custard powder contain egg?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These were very good. The only problem I found was you have to add WAY more soy milk than called for. Will be using again and again thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Based on all the great reviews, I thought this recipe would be better. I was looking for a vegan recipe for my 14-month old son who is allergic to eggs and milk. Maybe I've been spoiled by the non-vegan mix I've been using, but the first batch was not very good (well, my son liked them, but he'll eat just about anything). They tasted like biscuits, way too salty. I tweaked the recipe a little by adding some vanilla, cinnamon, a little more sugar and a lot more soy milk, and they were much better but still not great. I will continue to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These were accurately named. Even my animal product loving family ate these without knowing the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuburbanGlitzz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Really good. I cut the recipe in half, but needed way more soy milk, as other reviewers have also said. I also didn't have self rising flour, so I used unbleached all purpose flour and 3/4 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, and 1/2 tsp salt as another reviewer mentioned. I found them to be a little tough, but I think if I added a little more soy milk to thin it out, it would have been better. I also added dried cranberries and carob chips to some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
OMG, colour me impressed! I'm not a vegan, but I'm on a diet and am trying to lower my bloodpressure and cholestorol. I had guests and we had a yearning for pancakes and decided to try these, but were fairly sceptical, but we all loved them. I did add a little bit more milk to the mixture as per the recipe it wasn't mixing well, but that could have been a conversion and calculation mistake on my part. Anyway, they totally taste like regular pancakes and have an identical texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Very good, though I added 1 tablespoon vanilla and some cinnamon, and I couldn't find any custard powder so I settled for using vanilla pudding mix. I halfed the recipe, but still had to use 2 cups of soy milk and about 1/4 cup water. Turned out great though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-Rock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Timothy Tang
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
The Bird's Custard powder that I use in this part of Asia is totally vegan. You can replace vegan custard powder by using 1 tbsp cornstarch and 1 tsp chickpea flour for the yellow color. Check out my updated recipe, The World's Best Vegan Pancakes II. * 1 cup of flour * 1 tbsp. of vegan sugar * 1/2 tsp. of baking powder * 1/2 tsp. of baking soda * 1 tbsp. of cornstarch * 1 tbsp. of chickpea flour(for color) * 1 cup of non-GMO soy milk at room temperature * 2 tbsp. of oil -written on Dec 1st 2010
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timothy Tang

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Sorry. I've been making vegan pancakes from a PETA cookbook and thought I would like a change, but these just didn't work for me. I will stick with PETA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States