World's Best Vegan Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Daughter really enjoyed these. (Normally make the MyHOP recipe from this site) Made ours with Almond milk and had to add a little more water to thin out the batter a little. Really fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
The only thing I really missed when I went vegan was pancakes. I tried at least 20 different recipes over the course of a few months, all to no avail. I was about to give up when I found this recipe which uses custard powder so I was intrigued and decided to give it a go. Boy am I glad I did. Theses are the best pancakes I have ever eaten, vegan or not! Thank you so much for this recipe - it's great to have pancakes back in my life! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
As the recipe stands, it requires 2x the amount of liquid to achieve a "batter". They do sorta look like "real" pancakes, but are rather tough. Not sure what the custard powder is to achieve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
subbed 1/2 cup soymilk powder and water (variable--at LEAST 1.5 cups) for a halved recipe. Also used instant vanilla pudding powder instant of custard powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I only rated this at a 4 because I changed it, I had 8 kids over this morning and they flew off like hot cakes!!!! :)We are not vegan but I was looking for a quick pancake recipe that used self-rising flour (all I had on hand) and was easy. I did use the pudding mix as that is what I had on hand and I doubled the milk though I probably could have added more as they were still very very fluffy. They are very good and I will add this to our breakfast rotation for sure!!! Very very yummy. *16 hands up (for more:)!! ) *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I thought these were pretty good! I can't really say how they'd have turned out if I'd had self-rising flour... Instead I used whole wheat flour, and to substitute for the custard powder (as Timothy suggested) I used corn flour and salt. I also added some vanilla and cinammon. The ones I didn't burn tasted very nice! They were very hearty tasting... I bet that was because I used whole wheat. (Oh, and I substituted baking powder for baking soda and lemon juice! They still bubbled up, but I bet baking powder would make them lighter.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I had a friend from out of town coming over for breakfast and he is vegan. I really scratched my head to figure out what to serve. I made these pancakes using Timothy's modified recipe he posted on 3/22/08. I followed the directions exactly, except I had to substitute vanilla pudding mix (made sure there was no milk in it) for the custard powder. Wow, they were fantastic!!! Everyone loved them. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Just check the label on your custard powder. Some brands contain milk solids. Still makes a tasty pancake, but won't be truly vegan if that's important to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
My husband and I are vegetarian (not vegan) and really liked these. I ran out of eggs but was still hoping to make pancakes for breakfast. This recipe did the trick. I did as another reviewer mentioned and used regular (unbleached) flour along with a bit of baking powder, baking soda and salt. Also added a little dash of vanilla extract for flavour. Giving something a title of "World's Best" anything can be a bit misleading because it's all subjective, but we think this recipe is pretty darn good. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Unlike the majority of other reviewers I was completely unimpressed with this recipe. I made a couple pancakes but the results were so blah that I tweaked the batter until it didn't resemble the original recipe in any way except for the custard powder - that is great! Thanks for that idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States