World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
WONDERFUL Scones, FRIENDLYFOOD! Followed exactly - so easy but sooooo delish. Made for Mother's Day. Added Vanilla Glaze on this site (Thank you, Jamie Langston) & a little orange extract for brunch & omitted raisins. This is my 'go to' scone recipe in fact I'm craving them now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlNextDoor
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
My husband couldn't stop eating them. I didn''t have any currants. Remembered cinnamon sugar scones from a bakery in CA. I used the trii-fold method from the video and sprinkled cinnamon sugar at that step. Egg washed the tops and more cinnamon sugar YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Delicious! Can't wait to try them with fresh fruit. I will probably also sprinkle with crystallized sugar for a special touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbchik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Perfection! I did add 1 extra tablespoon of butter because I have butter grated and in the freezer in premeasured packages since I make scones every weekend. I used golden raisins and added about 1/3 cup chopped walnuts (preference but would still be "perfect" scones without them). So glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Perfect and tender, moist scones. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Perfection. Swapped out the currants/raisins for chocolate chips- wouldn't recommend, overly sweet. Especially if you eat with jam/cream. Otherwise, super easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Recently I have become cow milk protein allergic and can no longer have a Starbuck scone with my homemade lemon curd which is just about the most intense culinary experience that I have ever enjoyed. OK, so I love lemon! Anyway I wanted to have a scone this morning because I had some leftover lemon curd from yesterday's cheesecake effort, and was just going to suffer by purchasing a Starbuck's scone, when it occurred to me that I could make my own scones and substitute goat milk products and not have to suffer. When Iwent online and asked for the best scone recipe ever, this recipe came up and I made it immediately with goat butter which I had in the freezer, goat milk and goat yogurt to substitute for the sour cream. It was so amazing that I had to sit down and write this review. . . my first ever review. The result topped any previous scone and lemon curd experience ever! Even if you do not have a cow milk protein allergy using goat milk dairy products may be a new taste sensation that you would really enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Never made scones before, though Ive had them from bakeries. These were so easy and so good. Made them just like the directions said, but didn't use currants (SO doesn't like them). With fresh butter and jam..............mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the flour mixture and 2 apples (1 chopped and 1 shredded) to the flour before adding the milk/sour cream mixture. I had red delicious so used them. My husband and son loved them. *Note - the mixture is a little wet due to the shredded apple. To make handling easier I put waxed paper down and floured, then I put heaping tablespoon of scone mixture down, dusting with a little extra flour, rolled in ball and placed on baking sheet. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
OK, but I have tasted a lot better. Fluffiness was nice. I think it was the baking powder taste that turned me off. I like a little sweeter and as some of the other reviews stated, too dry by mid morning for me to consider saving for the next day. Fed the leftovers to my chickens. I was NOT impressed. I used craisins in place of raisins. I was really disappointed overall. I think I'd cut the baking powder in half if I made again, but I don't think I'll be making this one again. Left too much of a truly 'bad taste' in my mouth to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States