World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made several dozen of these for the husband to take to his Monday work meeting so I was really banking they would be delicious - and they were! I decided to use cranberries and also added some orange zest to the dry ingredients before adding the sour cream and milk. I made an orange icing that I drizzeled over the top 'Starbuck's' style. Rave reviews from everyone at his work as well. I also made a batch with cinnamon and raison, since that is the husband's favorite, and it turned out very well. This is a keeper recipe and I plan on making blueberry lemon ones next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
If your preference in a scone is for something dense and dry and crumbly this recipe is not for you. I tried this recipe on the recommendation of The British Baker and I was not disappointed. These are moist and light. I wanted a savory scone to go with a meal I'm making so I left out the currants. Instead, I tossed in some finely chopped scallion greens, some freshly shredded Parmesan, and a good handful of toasted pecans. I got 8 scones from the recipe and baked on stoneware. The egg wash might not be necessary, but it adds a lovely shine and I think helps the browning process. These are lovely to look at and delicious as well. I can't wait to try them as written with something sweet like craisins and some orange zest. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Best recipe for scones. I use it for a base recipe for scones and then add according to what I want. Like orange zest from 1 orange and vanilla for orange scones or one apple finely chopped and adding cinnamon and nutmeg for apple scones. Going to try chocolate/orange scones next :-) But recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Moist, slightly sweet, light and fluffy. Very good, I think these might be the worlds best scones. The scones I have had in the past are usually dry and chewy. I served these for dessert with cherry preserves. They were a nice slightly sweet end to a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
First time i've ever made scones, so was really nervous about it. Turned out great though. Made 12 of them and between 3 people they were gone in one meal. Topped with strawberry jam they tasted delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
just made this recipe wow is it great didnt have currants or rasins used chocolate chips so good the best scone I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
These are not dense scones, but they sure taste good! I used 3 tsp baking powder because i am baking at high altitude. i also left out raisins just because. Instead of sour cream I used yogurt because that is what i had. easy to bake and tasty! I forgot to let it rest and it still turned out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I also only used 3 tsp of baking powder and they tunred out GREAT. Made them for someone and my friends and family ate them all and had to make another batch. Mixed dired cranberries and dried cherries that were soaked in orange juice. Will make again and again! enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
just incredible really are great y’all were right good job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These are a nice texture but more like biscuits than scones if you ask me. I added chai spice to the dry ingredients and then, chopped fresh cherries instead of currants. I also topped with an almond glaze to make a bit sweeter as these are not too sweet. Would be good with savory add-ins - i.e. would be like a savory biscuit:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States