World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Not the typical scones many are used to, more like the ones in the UK. Not very sweet. I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I have only had scones once in my life and they were hard, dry and crumbly. I only decided to make these because one of my daughters really wanted to try scones. These are wonderful. So moist and adaptable to any flavor. I kept thinking - I can't believe how easy these are to make. The less work you put into the dough, the better they are. I cut the dough in half and made 1/2 chocolate chip and 1/2 orange cranberry. The chocolate chip were okay - the kids liked them. But the orange cranberry were so good. I even made a little orange galze, which added to the moistness as well as the flavor. As easy as these were to make, I would be a fool not to make them again. I am thinking lemon blueberry, raspberry, the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I've usually made scones from a mix....don't ask me why as I nearly never use mixes. I guess that I just thought that homemade scones would be difficult--wrong! I wanted to make scones for Christmas morning and these turned out great. I think that I put them too close to each other as they kinda mushed together when baking. I took them out after 15 minutes and initially thought that they were a little underdone. I took out the ones that seemed the most done and popped the rest back in the oven. In the meantime, my husband started on his and told me to take the others out of the oven as they were just very moist inside, not underdone. The scones accompanied soft boiled eggs and I served them with clotted cream and jam. Delicious! So much for scone mixes....this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Yummy! Flaky and really moist. Because I made them for Christmas, I added craisins for the currants and zested one orange. Would have been good to put a touch of orange juice in as well but I didn't want to mess up the moisture. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
best scones. everyone i served them to loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Not imprssed. Baking powder taste is overwhelming. Needs a bit more sugar. But, they did rise nicely and are light and fluffy. I shall stick with my tried and true version, which (surprisingly) is almost identical to this one, but has 1 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. soda. Would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Seriously! I was doubtful because I have a recipe I like, but these . . . they're light, fluffy and amazing. I made cinnamon apple by tossing one chopped peeled apple with 1 TB cornstarch and 1 tsp cinnamon which I added instead of raisins. Also used 3 TB bk powder + 1/2 tsp bk soda as suggested and they aren't bitter. Sprinkled the top with cin. & sugar. Yummm! Now to try cranberry orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These scones turned out great with a few modifications. I added one half cup of sugar, almost a cup of raisins, one teaspoon of vanilla extract and instead of milk and sour cream. I added one cup of buttermilk. Also baked them in a round and scored pie shaped scones. Taste and look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Easy to make and taste fantastic. I had never made scones before these and was incredibly pleased at how they turned out. Light and fluffy and just perfect when warm with a little butter and some current jelly. Have made three times now - will never need another scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Turned out light and just right texture. Will make again. Stuck to recipe except added about quarter cup diced dried apricots for colour and flavor. Thinking about doing another batch at Christmas with different fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solana Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States