World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I was really disappointed with these. I followed the recipe very carefully and wound up with something like a metalic flavored, fluffy cookie just slightly reminiscent of a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Best scones ever. I used buttermilk since I had it and it worked great. Added orange zest, dried cranberries and mini chocolate chips. I also sprinkled sugar on egg wash. I have already made them twice since yesterdy!! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neher Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I was trying to come up with something last minute with what I had on hand to take to a brunch. I substituted the 1/4 c. sour cream with peach yogurt since I didn't have any sour cream. I used 3 tsp b.p. per a previous review and used raisins, golden raisins and cranberries. I also formed the dough into one large round loaf and scored it with a knife before baking for about 25 minutes. I also only washed it with milk since I was out of eggs. It was beautiful and delicious! This is a definate keeper and will be made often here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very light and tender scones. I've been looking for a good basic scone recipe to play around with in terms of flavors, and this is the one I'll be using from now on. I used chopped dried cherries instead of the currents and they were delicious. I also used my large Pampered Chef scoop to portion them and just flattened them with my hand right on the baking sheet. They made 12 that way. I took them to the office and they were a hit. I've brought in scones made from other recipes and the first comment I got this morning was "these are the best you've made." I have to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have been looking for an easy scone recipe that you didn't have to knead and roll out and this was not only easy but delicious. I make these with Kraft Caramel Bits (available at Target) and they are amazing! A favorite with my teenage son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was my first time with scones and thanx to this recipe......nailed it! I went with fresh blueberries instead of raisins and didn't have any issues. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Easy to make. I halved the recipe and added chocolate chips to mine instead. I might skip the eggwash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Wondeful scones! I added frozen blueberries and it came out great. I did cut the sugar down a bit because i find american desserts much too sweet, using 1/3 cup for a double batch. I made a lemon glaze using 2 lemonds, zest of 1 lemon, 2 c. powder sugar, 1 tbs. butter. can heat over stove or microwave 30-60 seconds. Wisk to break up all the powdered sugar clumps. Amazing. Update: made again. Used hemp milk and light sour cream. only 1/8 c. sugar. used small wild blueberries and let defrost a little first. These were the most tender, light and fluffy scones EVER! I am putting this recipe in a frame with my changes and hanging it over the oven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Not the typical scones many are used to, more like the ones in the UK. Not very sweet. I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I have only had scones once in my life and they were hard, dry and crumbly. I only decided to make these because one of my daughters really wanted to try scones. These are wonderful. So moist and adaptable to any flavor. I kept thinking - I can't believe how easy these are to make. The less work you put into the dough, the better they are. I cut the dough in half and made 1/2 chocolate chip and 1/2 orange cranberry. The chocolate chip were okay - the kids liked them. But the orange cranberry were so good. I even made a little orange galze, which added to the moistness as well as the flavor. As easy as these were to make, I would be a fool not to make them again. I am thinking lemon blueberry, raspberry, the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States