World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make this recipe for ever as it's written and never tastes bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is the truly the Best Scone recipe! Thanks for sharing. Made these for a Bridal Shower to rave reviews. Even good the next day. You are so right, the key to them is not to over mix. My Scottish Grandmother made pie crust with milk and you have the same problem. Over mixing toughens the crust. I will be making these again and experimenting with delicious additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Wow! These were amazing! They weren't dry (I have found many scones tend to be dry and hard to eat) and tasted wonderful! I used golden raisins and topped it with an orange glaze, which was wonderful! I made it with a little less baking powder, which I would recommend, but it was wonderful overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krischellie21
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This recipe is amazing. So easy to follow this recipe. Scones came out perfect! Not too dry, not too soft. I followed the advice of some others and reduced baking powder to 3 tsp instead of 4. I also took some tips from another recipe and used frozen butter and grated it into the flour mixture rather than using a pastry blender. I used craisins instead of raisins, but that is just a personal preference. After mixing the dough, I sprinkled my counter with flour and pressed dough down into a circle about 8 inches around and 3/4 inches thick. Then cut into 8 triangles like a pizza pie. Sprinkled with a teaspoon of sugar instead of egg wash and placed on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper instead of greasing it. I placed them in the oven on the lower middle rack and baked for 18 minutes. They came out perfectly golden brown without having to grease a sheet or fiddle with an egg wash. I agree with everyone that this ingredient list is the best recipe, but I feel the adjustments I made based on tips from others helped to make these a breeze to make;-) Would highly recommend this recipe with those few minor adjustments! Check out my photo with the Krispy Kreme mug??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have attempted other scone recipes without success and was a bit wary to try this one also. With my search continuing I decided to try this after reading all the reviews and have to say that I was very impressed with the results. Maybe my search is finally over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
These are the best scones I have ever made!!! I made them for Mother's Day and my sister ate ten of them! They were that good. Everyone kept begging me to make them again, and everyone also thought they were bakery bought! I remade them and they turned out just as good. The only adjustments I made was using two thirds of the sour cream recommended, and using Heavy whipping cream for the last 1/3 of the mesherment. This respie is decently worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Fantastic as is, and easily adaptable--just as good with whole wheat pastry flour and maple syrup instead of sugar. Baking powder can be reduced to 3 tsp, but I kind of like the baking powder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
These were delicious! I was looking for a traditional, flaky scone recipe, and found it in this one. Followed directions but added 1/4 tsp cinnamon with dry ingredients (will try 1/2 tsp next time for added cinnamon flavour) and sprinkled egg wash with cinnamon-sugar mix. Enjoying one now fresh out of the oven. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWHELTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busy Dad
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made a gluten-free version of this recipe...the scones were amazing. I followed the recipe with three changes. First, I used Bob's Red Mill gluten-free flour, which allows for a 1:1 replacement of wheat flour in baking recipes. Gluten provides the 'stickiness' to hold bread products together, so I needed to add xanthum gum to achieve the same cohesion (3/4 tsp per cup of flour for muffins and quick breads like scones). I bought both the gluten-free flour and gum at a local health food store. Second, I used agave nectar as a sugar replacement. I used the amber variety of nectar, but you can use the light or raw varieties as well. The amber variety has a subtle maple-like flavor, the light variety has a neutral mild flavor, and the raw variety has a richer flavor. The nectar to sugar conversion is 1/2 cup of nectar to 1 cup of sugar. I used 1/8 cup of nectar in this recipe, and added it once I sifted the dry ingredients together, but before the butter. Finally, I used non-flavored, unsweetened almond milk in place of traditional milk (1:1 conversion). This was my first time making gluten-free scones, and I was nervous about making the aforementioned substitutes. I was stunned and stoked at how amazing the scones tasted like authentic Scottish scones. My family and I enjoyed the scones with authentic Scottish and English jams I bought in Europe last year. Enjoy and stay hungry, my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Delicious scone recipe- I followed it exactly and they came out moist, light, and flavorful. Definitely don't mix the dough to much as the instructions say that makes the scones tough. I baked mine the first time just touching as the instructions did and they came out as one giant scone that i had to break apart. The second time i kept them an inch apart and that worked better. I'm so glad I lost my other scone recipe our i never would have found this amazing one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States