World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Very simple to make and sooooo delicious!!!now I am making another bash with different flavours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Subbed missing ingredients - still came out great! I have a fantastic scone recipe caged from the London Times that I love - but I didn't want to make the big quantity it creates so I tried this one. Started before I realized I have (1) no dried fruit (2) no sour cream. I used 3/4 cup skim milk plus 1tablespoon plain white vinegar and no fruit. They came out very light, and rose beautifully! I did use real butter - which I think is critical to the taste of scones. Also, I used a trick from the other recipe: heated the oven to 475 degrees & put my greased cookie sheet in five minutes before I was going to bake the scones to pre-heat it. I do think a pre-heated surface helps the scones rise bigger. Pulled the cookie sheet out, put the scone flattened balls on, put the sheet back in & adjusted heat down to 425 (which it had cooled to anyway with opening twice) & baked for 12 minutes. Would def use this recipe again! Lovely with light plain cream cheese, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This is one of my favorites to use. It's a great base recipe to play with different flavors. I find that using a large ice cream dishes is easier than the making balls and flattening. They tend to be tenderer too when to treat the dough that way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by owensfamily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as printed and the dough was very sticky-I ended up putting chunks on parchment paper and they needed at least another 8 minutes in the oven but very tasty-I added zest of 1 lemon to the dough also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Analiese Fammler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
It came out heavy not light at all and it didn't brown at all after the specified time, they looked anemic, too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I tried this recipe and absolutely loved it! I was surprised at how quick and easy they are to make, and very light and tasty. Definitely better than store-bought scones. The only thing I did differently is added a couple of teaspoons more sugar, as I like my scones on the sweeter side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
OMG!!!! Hands down best scone ever !!! All that I did was tweak it a little. Shaped them into triangles made them thin spread sum fresh fruit that I heated with sugar, spread inside rolled them up like croissants and formed into balls. Another alternative was adding a tablespoon of orange juice and a teaspoon of orange zest. mmm yummy! huge hit with my daughter btw a very picky kid demands that I make them for her every Sunday. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Great recipe. I used Greek yoghurt i.s.o. sour cream (because that's what I had in the fridge) and I think it gave the scones a light touch. Only 10 minutes in the oven on 200C was enough! Almost burned them, but didn't :-) Made a few with raisins (for me) and a few without (for my 5 year old twins). We like to eat them with raspberry jam or butter and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I have been searching for a great scone recipe since falling in love with them while studying in England. This receipe was easy to follow and the scones turned out great. I used crasins and added a 1/4 tsp of orange extract - super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Great recipe and easy to follow! Changes made - used pomegranate craisins in lieu of the currants, and added some lemon zest. I also did not do the egg wash. Sufficiently sweet, but not overly so. Everyone loved the scones, including my 2yo and 8yo. A great brunch item or a breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States