World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Love this recipe. I have used scone box mixes and loved the King Arthur mixes, but decided to try to make them from scratch and selected this recipe from the internet search. I selected this recipe due to the ingredient of sour cream, which intrigued me. I very glad I did. I love the lightness of the scone and the taste as well. I found the recipe to be easy and fast. Eaten with my homemade clotted cream was just the perfect touch to a perfect scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
BEST EVER!! AGREED by everyone I served them to. I added 1/2 c. halved dried cranberries and drizzled powdered sugar icing with grated orange zest and vanilla added to taste. YUMMY!! Easy too. Just know that super crumbly is ok as you press them gently together. They will hold together after they are baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
this recipe is great! i love scones and have scoured for recipes. this one rocks! i've tried them with nuts, raisins - it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
First time that I have had success with scones. I made them in my mixer, froze the butter and grated it in. I used cranberries. Also, I did not make individual scones but I used a 9x9 glass pyrex and placed the whole mixture in , flattened it and cut the mixture into squares with a knife. This really avoided handling the dough too much. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
i absolutely love this recipe. I made this countless of times ever since I found this recipe in 2007. taste great with butter...nyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Lovely scones! I used cranberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
As the recipe says these are definitely the World's Best Scones! I had a friend over yesterday for coffee and since we are both Irish I told her I would make some fresh scones. I couldn't find my usual recipe so I googled scones and this is where it led me too. I had them made in no time at all BUT I only read the ingredients and not the directions - so i added the egg, sour cream and milk. the dough was soft so i just dusted with a little extra flour - the result was a super tender, melt in your mouth scone. Enjoyed them so much thaqt today I made it again - this time I omitted the raisins at my daughters request. I added the egg again and put the mixture in a loaf pan. I used another egg for the egg wash, baked it for about 35/40 mins at 375 degrees. we had it with some real butter (from Ireland) and some strawberry preserves. Absolutely delicious! Kids want me to make it every day. Will be adding this to my favorites. Thanks FRIENDLYFOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Very simple to make and sooooo delicious!!!now I am making another bash with different flavours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Subbed missing ingredients - still came out great! I have a fantastic scone recipe caged from the London Times that I love - but I didn't want to make the big quantity it creates so I tried this one. Started before I realized I have (1) no dried fruit (2) no sour cream. I used 3/4 cup skim milk plus 1tablespoon plain white vinegar and no fruit. They came out very light, and rose beautifully! I did use real butter - which I think is critical to the taste of scones. Also, I used a trick from the other recipe: heated the oven to 475 degrees & put my greased cookie sheet in five minutes before I was going to bake the scones to pre-heat it. I do think a pre-heated surface helps the scones rise bigger. Pulled the cookie sheet out, put the scone flattened balls on, put the sheet back in & adjusted heat down to 425 (which it had cooled to anyway with opening twice) & baked for 12 minutes. Would def use this recipe again! Lovely with light plain cream cheese, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This is one of my favorites to use. It's a great base recipe to play with different flavors. I find that using a large ice cream dishes is easier than the making balls and flattening. They tend to be tenderer too when to treat the dough that way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by owensfamily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States