World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Shirley George
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I usually do not leave a review but i just had to this time. As a professional baker, i have tried several scone recipes but none came as fantastic as these ones. Simply delicious, moist on the inside and a nice crust on the outside. This will be the recipe i will use from now onwards. I made two changes. Used 3 teaspoons of baking powder and replaced sour cream with buttermilk because i had none. Will get some from the store the next time. My husband and son loves these scones. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe. Cheers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley George

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Best oven scones I've had. I finally found oven scones that taste as good as my griddle scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make this recipe for ever as it's written and never tastes bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is the truly the Best Scone recipe! Thanks for sharing. Made these for a Bridal Shower to rave reviews. Even good the next day. You are so right, the key to them is not to over mix. My Scottish Grandmother made pie crust with milk and you have the same problem. Over mixing toughens the crust. I will be making these again and experimenting with delicious additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Wow! These were amazing! They weren't dry (I have found many scones tend to be dry and hard to eat) and tasted wonderful! I used golden raisins and topped it with an orange glaze, which was wonderful! I made it with a little less baking powder, which I would recommend, but it was wonderful overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krischellie21
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This recipe is amazing. So easy to follow this recipe. Scones came out perfect! Not too dry, not too soft. I followed the advice of some others and reduced baking powder to 3 tsp instead of 4. I also took some tips from another recipe and used frozen butter and grated it into the flour mixture rather than using a pastry blender. I used craisins instead of raisins, but that is just a personal preference. After mixing the dough, I sprinkled my counter with flour and pressed dough down into a circle about 8 inches around and 3/4 inches thick. Then cut into 8 triangles like a pizza pie. Sprinkled with a teaspoon of sugar instead of egg wash and placed on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper instead of greasing it. I placed them in the oven on the lower middle rack and baked for 18 minutes. They came out perfectly golden brown without having to grease a sheet or fiddle with an egg wash. I agree with everyone that this ingredient list is the best recipe, but I feel the adjustments I made based on tips from others helped to make these a breeze to make;-) Would highly recommend this recipe with those few minor adjustments! Check out my photo with the Krispy Kreme mug??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have attempted other scone recipes without success and was a bit wary to try this one also. With my search continuing I decided to try this after reading all the reviews and have to say that I was very impressed with the results. Maybe my search is finally over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
These are the best scones I have ever made!!! I made them for Mother's Day and my sister ate ten of them! They were that good. Everyone kept begging me to make them again, and everyone also thought they were bakery bought! I remade them and they turned out just as good. The only adjustments I made was using two thirds of the sour cream recommended, and using Heavy whipping cream for the last 1/3 of the mesherment. This respie is decently worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Fantastic as is, and easily adaptable--just as good with whole wheat pastry flour and maple syrup instead of sugar. Baking powder can be reduced to 3 tsp, but I kind of like the baking powder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
These were delicious! I was looking for a traditional, flaky scone recipe, and found it in this one. Followed directions but added 1/4 tsp cinnamon with dry ingredients (will try 1/2 tsp next time for added cinnamon flavour) and sprinkled egg wash with cinnamon-sugar mix. Enjoying one now fresh out of the oven. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWHELTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States