World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by KAN
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
The only thing I knew about scones was that it was a sort of dessert shaped like a pizza slice. Because of this recipe and its many positive reviews, I studied my scones before trying out this recipe for myself. (-: Turns out that scones are a type of BREAD that can be in various shapes: round, like a biscuit, square, or a triangle and either lightly sweetened as a dessert or savory. After studying the facts, I pulled out my ingredients and worked through this recipe without any changes except for two things: I switched currants for some frozen strawberries and blueberries, and I froze my flour mixture for up to five minutes after rubbing in the butter. Since this was my first time making scones, I worried that I'd overmix the dough. So I purposely left large clumps of dough only slightly moistened. Unexpectedly, the scones turned out fluffy! After having my first bite, I was smiling. This, my friend, was delicious. I doubt I'll be able to find a recipe as easy and good as this one, right here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made these with 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, yogurt instead of sour cream, and no egg on top (I didn't have any, so I just brushed it with milk instead). Next time I'll definitely go with all white flour - the scones were WONDERFUL but the texture just wasn't authentic with the wheat flour. The yogurt substitution was great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This is the best scone recipe ever. I put some dried cranberries as well as raisins. Outstanding. I won't make any other again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlee
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
These scones not only look great but taste great. To the reviewer who complained about the baking powder "taste" perhaps you did not measure correctly. I did not find this to be a problem. I have been searching for a good scone recipe for a long time and this one fits the bill. The sour cream gives them a nice texture, not dry the way some scones taste. I 've made this a number of times and they are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Great texture but the baking powder taste was a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
So yummy! Thanks for sharing. I switched out the currants for blueberries and loved them. They look great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PaulaB
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
These scones are delicious. Lighter and moister. I took another reviewers advice to put in the freezer after mixing the butter and flour. I also put some glazing sugar on the top before baking. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I just absolutely adore this recipe. So easy and truly delicious. I don't know what more I can say about it than please make some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Totally FABULOUS! I also added 1 tsp Watkins vanilla. Realized I didn't have sour cream so I used Greek yogurt instead. These are hands down A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States