World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the flour mixture and 2 apples (1 chopped and 1 shredded) to the flour before adding the milk/sour cream mixture. I had red delicious so used them. My husband and son loved them. *Note - the mixture is a little wet due to the shredded apple. To make handling easier I put waxed paper down and floured, then I put heaping tablespoon of scone mixture down, dusting with a little extra flour, rolled in ball and placed on baking sheet. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
OK, but I have tasted a lot better. Fluffiness was nice. I think it was the baking powder taste that turned me off. I like a little sweeter and as some of the other reviews stated, too dry by mid morning for me to consider saving for the next day. Fed the leftovers to my chickens. I was NOT impressed. I used craisins in place of raisins. I was really disappointed overall. I think I'd cut the baking powder in half if I made again, but I don't think I'll be making this one again. Left too much of a truly 'bad taste' in my mouth to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Because of the sour cream, these scones are tender and fluffy. Don't expect them to be crumbly. They are the soft type scones. I used sour cream and buttermilk because that is all I have....the result is awesome...the flavor is buttery and they are melt in your mouth tender. Keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
As other reviewers suggested, I didn't overmix the batter, and I placed the bowl in the freezer after mixing in the dry ingredients. I gently folded in mini chocolate chips and sprinkled sugar on top. These came out soft and were delicious just by themselves. I will use this recipe for scones from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
easy, tasty and quick! a little messy, but worth it! i used fresh blueberries and brushed with egg/milk mixture and sprinkled with sugar...YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREENBEENS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Delicious! Didn't have sour cream, but I did have plain greek yogurt, which seems to have worked fine. Patted the dough into a circle and scored into 8 wedges. Baked almost 20 minutes. Wonderful plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Added my own mix ins. Don't put that close together on pan, they can be about 1/2 inch apart?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were fabulous. first time making homemade scones. I must say much fluffier then even the coffee shops. my boys thought they were buscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
SO GOOD! Just took these out of the oven and they are the tastiest things ever. I didn't have any baking powder so I added half the amount of baking soda and they turned out delicious still. Def. going to make these again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Super easy and delicious. I added Craisins and white chocolate chips instead of currants. Also, I skipped the egg wash and just brushed tops w/ milk and sprinkled on a little sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States