World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
As other reviewers suggested, I didn't overmix the batter, and I placed the bowl in the freezer after mixing in the dry ingredients. I gently folded in mini chocolate chips and sprinkled sugar on top. These came out soft and were delicious just by themselves. I will use this recipe for scones from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
easy, tasty and quick! a little messy, but worth it! i used fresh blueberries and brushed with egg/milk mixture and sprinkled with sugar...YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GREENBEENS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Delicious! Didn't have sour cream, but I did have plain greek yogurt, which seems to have worked fine. Patted the dough into a circle and scored into 8 wedges. Baked almost 20 minutes. Wonderful plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Added my own mix ins. Don't put that close together on pan, they can be about 1/2 inch apart?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were fabulous. first time making homemade scones. I must say much fluffier then even the coffee shops. my boys thought they were buscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
SO GOOD! Just took these out of the oven and they are the tastiest things ever. I didn't have any baking powder so I added half the amount of baking soda and they turned out delicious still. Def. going to make these again. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Super easy and delicious. I added Craisins and white chocolate chips instead of currants. Also, I skipped the egg wash and just brushed tops w/ milk and sprinkled on a little sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These scones were absolutely fabulous. I divided the dough into 3 small sections as I wanted to experiment with flavors. I added mini chocolate chips to one small ball of dough. Then rolled it out and used my biscuit cutter to cut them out. Then I did one blueberry and one blueberry lemon with the remaining 2 balls. They were all good, but the favorites were chocolate chip and the blueberry lemon. I did not have not have sour cream or yogurt, so I used my powdered buttermilk to make 1/2 cup of liquid in place of the sour cream and milk. Absolutely perfect substitute. Will be making 3 more batches today. Great recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Could not quit eating these scones. Simple recipe, great results. We added Crasins. I will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These are just extraordinary! So tasty and moist. I make a batch on the weekends (with Craisins), freeze them, and bring one to work every day to have with tea. They really are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States