World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I tried this recipe and absolutely loved it! I was surprised at how quick and easy they are to make, and very light and tasty. Definitely better than store-bought scones. The only thing I did differently is added a couple of teaspoons more sugar, as I like my scones on the sweeter side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
OMG!!!! Hands down best scone ever !!! All that I did was tweak it a little. Shaped them into triangles made them thin spread sum fresh fruit that I heated with sugar, spread inside rolled them up like croissants and formed into balls. Another alternative was adding a tablespoon of orange juice and a teaspoon of orange zest. mmm yummy! huge hit with my daughter btw a very picky kid demands that I make them for her every Sunday. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Great recipe. I used Greek yoghurt i.s.o. sour cream (because that's what I had in the fridge) and I think it gave the scones a light touch. Only 10 minutes in the oven on 200C was enough! Almost burned them, but didn't :-) Made a few with raisins (for me) and a few without (for my 5 year old twins). We like to eat them with raspberry jam or butter and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I have been searching for a great scone recipe since falling in love with them while studying in England. This receipe was easy to follow and the scones turned out great. I used crasins and added a 1/4 tsp of orange extract - super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Great recipe and easy to follow! Changes made - used pomegranate craisins in lieu of the currants, and added some lemon zest. I also did not do the egg wash. Sufficiently sweet, but not overly so. Everyone loved the scones, including my 2yo and 8yo. A great brunch item or a breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
These scones are wonderfully moist and very easy to make. I substitute all sorts of things for the raisins, depending on the season and the setting. Anything from cranberries and orange zest to savory breakfast scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made several dozen of these for the husband to take to his Monday work meeting so I was really banking they would be delicious - and they were! I decided to use cranberries and also added some orange zest to the dry ingredients before adding the sour cream and milk. I made an orange icing that I drizzeled over the top 'Starbuck's' style. Rave reviews from everyone at his work as well. I also made a batch with cinnamon and raison, since that is the husband's favorite, and it turned out very well. This is a keeper recipe and I plan on making blueberry lemon ones next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
If your preference in a scone is for something dense and dry and crumbly this recipe is not for you. I tried this recipe on the recommendation of The British Baker and I was not disappointed. These are moist and light. I wanted a savory scone to go with a meal I'm making so I left out the currants. Instead, I tossed in some finely chopped scallion greens, some freshly shredded Parmesan, and a good handful of toasted pecans. I got 8 scones from the recipe and baked on stoneware. The egg wash might not be necessary, but it adds a lovely shine and I think helps the browning process. These are lovely to look at and delicious as well. I can't wait to try them as written with something sweet like craisins and some orange zest. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Best recipe for scones. I use it for a base recipe for scones and then add according to what I want. Like orange zest from 1 orange and vanilla for orange scones or one apple finely chopped and adding cinnamon and nutmeg for apple scones. Going to try chocolate/orange scones next :-) But recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Moist, slightly sweet, light and fluffy. Very good, I think these might be the worlds best scones. The scones I have had in the past are usually dry and chewy. I served these for dessert with cherry preserves. They were a nice slightly sweet end to a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States