World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sophia
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The best scone recipe I've ever tried! I used soft, dried cranberries and chopped them into smaller pieces. I added the cranberries to the wet mixture before adding it the dry mixture. After using the egg wash I sprinkled regular sugar on the top of a very crunchy sweet top. I did taste a bit of the baking powder so I will try using a little less next time. All in all, great! I can't wait to try some of the other combinations that have been suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have baked this with Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and fresh cranberries, which taste-wise turned out fantastic. I only wish they would turn out a bit more upright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Love this recipe. I have used scone box mixes and loved the King Arthur mixes, but decided to try to make them from scratch and selected this recipe from the internet search. I selected this recipe due to the ingredient of sour cream, which intrigued me. I very glad I did. I love the lightness of the scone and the taste as well. I found the recipe to be easy and fast. Eaten with my homemade clotted cream was just the perfect touch to a perfect scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
BEST EVER!! AGREED by everyone I served them to. I added 1/2 c. halved dried cranberries and drizzled powdered sugar icing with grated orange zest and vanilla added to taste. YUMMY!! Easy too. Just know that super crumbly is ok as you press them gently together. They will hold together after they are baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
this recipe is great! i love scones and have scoured for recipes. this one rocks! i've tried them with nuts, raisins - it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
First time that I have had success with scones. I made them in my mixer, froze the butter and grated it in. I used cranberries. Also, I did not make individual scones but I used a 9x9 glass pyrex and placed the whole mixture in , flattened it and cut the mixture into squares with a knife. This really avoided handling the dough too much. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
i absolutely love this recipe. I made this countless of times ever since I found this recipe in 2007. taste great with butter...nyum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Lovely scones! I used cranberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
As the recipe says these are definitely the World's Best Scones! I had a friend over yesterday for coffee and since we are both Irish I told her I would make some fresh scones. I couldn't find my usual recipe so I googled scones and this is where it led me too. I had them made in no time at all BUT I only read the ingredients and not the directions - so i added the egg, sour cream and milk. the dough was soft so i just dusted with a little extra flour - the result was a super tender, melt in your mouth scone. Enjoyed them so much thaqt today I made it again - this time I omitted the raisins at my daughters request. I added the egg again and put the mixture in a loaf pan. I used another egg for the egg wash, baked it for about 35/40 mins at 375 degrees. we had it with some real butter (from Ireland) and some strawberry preserves. Absolutely delicious! Kids want me to make it every day. Will be adding this to my favorites. Thanks FRIENDLYFOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Very simple to make and sooooo delicious!!!now I am making another bash with different flavours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States