World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Fantastic as is, and easily adaptable--just as good with whole wheat pastry flour and maple syrup instead of sugar. Baking powder can be reduced to 3 tsp, but I kind of like the baking powder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
These were delicious! I was looking for a traditional, flaky scone recipe, and found it in this one. Followed directions but added 1/4 tsp cinnamon with dry ingredients (will try 1/2 tsp next time for added cinnamon flavour) and sprinkled egg wash with cinnamon-sugar mix. Enjoying one now fresh out of the oven. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWHELTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busy Dad
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made a gluten-free version of this recipe...the scones were amazing. I followed the recipe with three changes. First, I used Bob's Red Mill gluten-free flour, which allows for a 1:1 replacement of wheat flour in baking recipes. Gluten provides the 'stickiness' to hold bread products together, so I needed to add xanthum gum to achieve the same cohesion (3/4 tsp per cup of flour for muffins and quick breads like scones). I bought both the gluten-free flour and gum at a local health food store. Second, I used agave nectar as a sugar replacement. I used the amber variety of nectar, but you can use the light or raw varieties as well. The amber variety has a subtle maple-like flavor, the light variety has a neutral mild flavor, and the raw variety has a richer flavor. The nectar to sugar conversion is 1/2 cup of nectar to 1 cup of sugar. I used 1/8 cup of nectar in this recipe, and added it once I sifted the dry ingredients together, but before the butter. Finally, I used non-flavored, unsweetened almond milk in place of traditional milk (1:1 conversion). This was my first time making gluten-free scones, and I was nervous about making the aforementioned substitutes. I was stunned and stoked at how amazing the scones tasted like authentic Scottish scones. My family and I enjoyed the scones with authentic Scottish and English jams I bought in Europe last year. Enjoy and stay hungry, my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Delicious scone recipe- I followed it exactly and they came out moist, light, and flavorful. Definitely don't mix the dough to much as the instructions say that makes the scones tough. I baked mine the first time just touching as the instructions did and they came out as one giant scone that i had to break apart. The second time i kept them an inch apart and that worked better. I'm so glad I lost my other scone recipe our i never would have found this amazing one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
So i tried this recipe. I only made half the serving and used chocolate chips instead of raisins because that's the only thing I have. I also used powdered dry chocolate milk again because that was all I had. Otherwise, followed the recipe measurements. It was awesome!!!! Eating them now with cream cheese and worrying if I'll spoil myself for dinner. Thumbs up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
My first and best attempt at scones and they were wonderful! The whole bach was gone in literally 4 minutes! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janccd
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now and I followed it exactly! These are the most delicious scones I've ever eaten or made! I agree with some other reviewers that the less your work the dough, the more tender the scones will be. Instead of greasing the cookie sheet, I used parchment paper and I like that as the scones don't have a grease layer on the bottom. Also, I used a cookie dough scoop instead of handling the dough to make them into balls. The cookie scoop worked wonderfully! I just dipped it in flour before each scoop! It made the scones a nice size; not too big! All in all, this recipe is super delicious and I thank "FRIENDLYFOOD" for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janccd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I have made this MANY times and it goes over like gangbusters every time. It's a definite quick and easy way o please morning or afternoon guests and your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I love these scones!!!! They're amazing! My one caveat is i usually need to add a bit more milk- more like 2/3 to 3/4 of a cup. They always turn out amazing and everybody asks for the recipe! Delicious with 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes and 1/2 tsp coconut extract instead of currants. Or cut back on the sugar and add cracked black pepper and grated parmesan (you'll definitely need more milk then). Or add zest of a lemon and 1/2 cup frozen blueberries or raspberries. Or just add 1 tsp vanilla bean paste and no other add ins. SO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanc
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Don't bother looking for another recipe! Perfect! Made with cream instead of milk and put dried cranberries and orange zest! Think you are in /Scotland! I've never been there better than the Irish ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States