World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Not imprssed. Baking powder taste is overwhelming. Needs a bit more sugar. But, they did rise nicely and are light and fluffy. I shall stick with my tried and true version, which (surprisingly) is almost identical to this one, but has 1 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. soda. Would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Seriously! I was doubtful because I have a recipe I like, but these . . . they're light, fluffy and amazing. I made cinnamon apple by tossing one chopped peeled apple with 1 TB cornstarch and 1 tsp cinnamon which I added instead of raisins. Also used 3 TB bk powder + 1/2 tsp bk soda as suggested and they aren't bitter. Sprinkled the top with cin. & sugar. Yummm! Now to try cranberry orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These scones turned out great with a few modifications. I added one half cup of sugar, almost a cup of raisins, one teaspoon of vanilla extract and instead of milk and sour cream. I added one cup of buttermilk. Also baked them in a round and scored pie shaped scones. Taste and look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Easy to make and taste fantastic. I had never made scones before these and was incredibly pleased at how they turned out. Light and fluffy and just perfect when warm with a little butter and some current jelly. Have made three times now - will never need another scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Turned out light and just right texture. Will make again. Stuck to recipe except added about quarter cup diced dried apricots for colour and flavor. Thinking about doing another batch at Christmas with different fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solana Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These scones really are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
thanks for sharing! As shown, the recipe is fantastic. Next time, I'll use fresh fruit instead of raisons and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CartoonJunkie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wow! My family finished these in one sitting. Absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
These are best served hot out of the oven. I substituted fresh raspberries for raisins. I also prefer whipping cream to sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Edwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
All I tasted was baking powder-yuck. Not nearly enough sugar. They rose good and wern't dry, but man that baking powder was over powering. I think 2 tsps would be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grafton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Inkster, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States