World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Instead of dried currants/raisins, I made cinnamon scones by adding 1 tsp cinnamon to the dough and then sprinkling cinnamon/sugar mixture over the top of scones right before baking. Also reduced the butter to 4 TBS. My husband doesn't have a sweet tooth and he loved them because they weren't too sweet and were light and moist. We will be making this recipe again with other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made these with dried apricots cut into small pieces instead of raisins or currants. The results were AMAZING. My mom and I ate a whole plate of these, and I ended up having to make more for the tea party they were supposed to be for. Sweet, but not too sweet, perfect with a little melted butter or clotted cream. I highly recommend this recipe to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I am sure this recipe is great- but for someone with little baking experience- this recipe is deceiving. My scones were so bitter I couldn't eat them. There is WAY too much baking powder!! Maybe the recipe is supposed to be like this, because almost all the reviews indicate that this recipe is AWESOME. But I had a very different experience... :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Amazing! I prefer sweet stuff, so I substituted 1/2 cup chocolate chips for the currants and sprinkled sugar on top before baking. These were as good as Whole Foods chocolate chip scones and maybe even better. Coming back to my review to add this comment. My daughter's boyfriend is from Northern England. I made these for breakfast during one of his visits, and he said they are better than any scones he's ever had in England. Good job, Friendlyfood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Great!! Very similar taste and texture to my own favorite recipe. Made just a few minor changes. Used 1 Tbsp baking powder, scant 1/4 cup sugar, 1/3 cup skimmed milk, Fat free sour cream, and grabbed "I Can't Believe it's Not Butter" not realizing it till after the fact. Used mini chocolate chips too. It really is not necessary to grease the baking sheet. Did not bother with egg wash this time. Thanks Friendlyfood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
amazing! i used white and chocolate chips instead of raisins. my sister and i ate them with coffee for breakfast! my dad, who is not a fan of scones, even liked them! they were not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
MMmmm everyone one loved them and so did I! Easier to make than I ever imagined. Took the advice of freezing and grating the butter into the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Awesome recipe! I made these twice in 2 days because I loved them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
it's really the best scone in the world! amazing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I only gave the recipe 4 stars because the first time I made the scones I followed the recipe to the 'T.' They had a bitter aftertaste! After research, I made the scones a second time using only 2 teaspoons of baking powder and they are much better! I also used blueberries for the fruit and sprinkled sugar on the tops after the egg wash. Be sure you put the fruit in the flour mixture BEFORE you put the liquid in. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States