World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made mine with frozen raspberries and when they came out of the oven I drizzled them with icicng sugar glaze, delicious!! And gone in a day! This time I am trying an apple cinnamon version with a brown sugar crumble on top!!Excellent recipie even for a beginner baker like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Perfect scones with an ingenious savory sweet twist: Reduced baking powder to 3 tsp and reduced sugar to ~1/5 cup. Added 1/2 tbsp. caraway seeds and 1 tsp. fresh ground cardamom seeds to dry mix. Made with extra large raisins (which is why could reduce the sugar because they add their own sweetness). Skipped egg wash. Everyone went bonkers for these! Try them out! You can decrease caraway and cardamom for a subtler flavour or go hog wild and ramp it up and even add some other savory spices. Thinking of adding a dash of fresh shaved mace next time. Thanks for the wonderful recipe to play with! ~Fiona
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Just made these this morning for breakfast! Very fluffy and yummy with just right amount of flavors. I also reduced the baking powder to 1 tablespoon (3 teaspoons) and it was just right. Will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Most excellent scones ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I was really disappointed with these. I followed the recipe very carefully and wound up with something like a metalic flavored, fluffy cookie just slightly reminiscent of a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Best scones ever. I used buttermilk since I had it and it worked great. Added orange zest, dried cranberries and mini chocolate chips. I also sprinkled sugar on egg wash. I have already made them twice since yesterdy!! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neher Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I was trying to come up with something last minute with what I had on hand to take to a brunch. I substituted the 1/4 c. sour cream with peach yogurt since I didn't have any sour cream. I used 3 tsp b.p. per a previous review and used raisins, golden raisins and cranberries. I also formed the dough into one large round loaf and scored it with a knife before baking for about 25 minutes. I also only washed it with milk since I was out of eggs. It was beautiful and delicious! This is a definate keeper and will be made often here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very light and tender scones. I've been looking for a good basic scone recipe to play around with in terms of flavors, and this is the one I'll be using from now on. I used chopped dried cherries instead of the currents and they were delicious. I also used my large Pampered Chef scoop to portion them and just flattened them with my hand right on the baking sheet. They made 12 that way. I took them to the office and they were a hit. I've brought in scones made from other recipes and the first comment I got this morning was "these are the best you've made." I have to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have been looking for an easy scone recipe that you didn't have to knead and roll out and this was not only easy but delicious. I make these with Kraft Caramel Bits (available at Target) and they are amazing! A favorite with my teenage son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was my first time with scones and thanx to this recipe......nailed it! I went with fresh blueberries instead of raisins and didn't have any issues. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States