World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have been looking for an easy scone recipe that you didn't have to knead and roll out and this was not only easy but delicious. I make these with Kraft Caramel Bits (available at Target) and they are amazing! A favorite with my teenage son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was my first time with scones and thanx to this recipe......nailed it! I went with fresh blueberries instead of raisins and didn't have any issues. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Easy to make. I halved the recipe and added chocolate chips to mine instead. I might skip the eggwash next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Wondeful scones! I added frozen blueberries and it came out great. I did cut the sugar down a bit because i find american desserts much too sweet, using 1/3 cup for a double batch. I made a lemon glaze using 2 lemonds, zest of 1 lemon, 2 c. powder sugar, 1 tbs. butter. can heat over stove or microwave 30-60 seconds. Wisk to break up all the powdered sugar clumps. Amazing. Update: made again. Used hemp milk and light sour cream. only 1/8 c. sugar. used small wild blueberries and let defrost a little first. These were the most tender, light and fluffy scones EVER! I am putting this recipe in a frame with my changes and hanging it over the oven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Not the typical scones many are used to, more like the ones in the UK. Not very sweet. I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I have only had scones once in my life and they were hard, dry and crumbly. I only decided to make these because one of my daughters really wanted to try scones. These are wonderful. So moist and adaptable to any flavor. I kept thinking - I can't believe how easy these are to make. The less work you put into the dough, the better they are. I cut the dough in half and made 1/2 chocolate chip and 1/2 orange cranberry. The chocolate chip were okay - the kids liked them. But the orange cranberry were so good. I even made a little orange galze, which added to the moistness as well as the flavor. As easy as these were to make, I would be a fool not to make them again. I am thinking lemon blueberry, raspberry, the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I've usually made scones from a mix....don't ask me why as I nearly never use mixes. I guess that I just thought that homemade scones would be difficult--wrong! I wanted to make scones for Christmas morning and these turned out great. I think that I put them too close to each other as they kinda mushed together when baking. I took them out after 15 minutes and initially thought that they were a little underdone. I took out the ones that seemed the most done and popped the rest back in the oven. In the meantime, my husband started on his and told me to take the others out of the oven as they were just very moist inside, not underdone. The scones accompanied soft boiled eggs and I served them with clotted cream and jam. Delicious! So much for scone mixes....this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Yummy! Flaky and really moist. Because I made them for Christmas, I added craisins for the currants and zested one orange. Would have been good to put a touch of orange juice in as well but I didn't want to mess up the moisture. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
best scones. everyone i served them to loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Not imprssed. Baking powder taste is overwhelming. Needs a bit more sugar. But, they did rise nicely and are light and fluffy. I shall stick with my tried and true version, which (surprisingly) is almost identical to this one, but has 1 tsp. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. soda. Would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States