World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I wanted some scones that were more British than American, and this recipe absolutely hit the spot! They were a big hit with my friends, who remarked 'Wow, and I don't even like scones!' I took the advice of other commenters and grated the butter (to handle it less) and also refrigerated the mixture between portions of the recipe. I also added a handful of frozen blueberries, and they were pop-in-your-mouth delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Feb 21, 2011 Delicious, I used whole wheat flour and added blueberries. Baked it in a 9x9 cake pan then sliced it when cooled. I did not put the egg topping on. Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sechelt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I am English (now live in Canada) and have eaten a fair amount of scones in my time from varying establishments throughout the UK, the best IMO being from Cornwall, served at high tea. These don't really resemble a traditional British scone, but they were very nice indeed. My Canadian husband loved them - he called them tea biscuits. They were not what I'd describe as a biscuit as they were soft and fluffy - a biscuit is crunchy! I am not sure that the recipe called for enough butter and I would use a further 2 tablespoons and next time I would also use salted and not unsalted butter, however I will certainly be saving this recipe and using again - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were ok, but the texture wasn't what I had expected. They turned out too light and fluffy - like a biscuit. I was hoping for something more a little more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made mine with frozen raspberries and when they came out of the oven I drizzled them with icicng sugar glaze, delicious!! And gone in a day! This time I am trying an apple cinnamon version with a brown sugar crumble on top!!Excellent recipie even for a beginner baker like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Perfect scones with an ingenious savory sweet twist: Reduced baking powder to 3 tsp and reduced sugar to ~1/5 cup. Added 1/2 tbsp. caraway seeds and 1 tsp. fresh ground cardamom seeds to dry mix. Made with extra large raisins (which is why could reduce the sugar because they add their own sweetness). Skipped egg wash. Everyone went bonkers for these! Try them out! You can decrease caraway and cardamom for a subtler flavour or go hog wild and ramp it up and even add some other savory spices. Thinking of adding a dash of fresh shaved mace next time. Thanks for the wonderful recipe to play with! ~Fiona
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Just made these this morning for breakfast! Very fluffy and yummy with just right amount of flavors. I also reduced the baking powder to 1 tablespoon (3 teaspoons) and it was just right. Will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Most excellent scones ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I was really disappointed with these. I followed the recipe very carefully and wound up with something like a metalic flavored, fluffy cookie just slightly reminiscent of a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Best scones ever. I used buttermilk since I had it and it worked great. Added orange zest, dried cranberries and mini chocolate chips. I also sprinkled sugar on egg wash. I have already made them twice since yesterdy!! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neher Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States