World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy to the U.S. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! The only item I change is that I use fresh blueberries or raspberries. My friends and family rave about them. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I am not a baker and was a little worried but WOW these are delicious. I doubled the recipe and made 3 kinds plain, semi-sweet chocolate chip, and dried cranberry with pecans. They were all great! The only thing I changed was I froze the butter and used the shredder. This was a tip from another review and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
These were great. We like cranberries better than raisins so used them instead. Also topped with tubinado sugar--to give it that bakery look. Used white wheat flour for the first time, my husband even loved them --and he used to not like scones! Great recipe....oh--the overmixing comes in after you add the liquid... It's pretty hard to overmix the dry ingredients with the butter as long as your butter is cold, NOT soft...so I wouldn't take the time to grate the butter for those of you who haven't baked alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I was searching for a scones recipe after having them at Disney World's breakfast buffet-Boma! These turned out just as good as theirs! I made them the first time exactly as the recipe says and that is where my 5 star rating comes from. The second time I used white whole wheat and instead of currents I did 1/2 cup fresh blueberries. I also added 1 tsp vanilla to the milk/sour cream mix. It never formed into a ball (assuming because of the wheat) so I added 3 tablspoons of orange juice and that did the trick. They were delicious! If you want to whip something togeher last minute these will not let you down. I served with whipped cream cheese when my friends came over last minute for tea =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladiebuglane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Seneca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
They were light and fluffy like a cake, but did not meet my expectation for a scone. They baked properly and it's good food for something else, but not a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I wanted some scones that were more British than American, and this recipe absolutely hit the spot! They were a big hit with my friends, who remarked 'Wow, and I don't even like scones!' I took the advice of other commenters and grated the butter (to handle it less) and also refrigerated the mixture between portions of the recipe. I also added a handful of frozen blueberries, and they were pop-in-your-mouth delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Feb 21, 2011 Delicious, I used whole wheat flour and added blueberries. Baked it in a 9x9 cake pan then sliced it when cooled. I did not put the egg topping on. Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sechelt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I am English (now live in Canada) and have eaten a fair amount of scones in my time from varying establishments throughout the UK, the best IMO being from Cornwall, served at high tea. These don't really resemble a traditional British scone, but they were very nice indeed. My Canadian husband loved them - he called them tea biscuits. They were not what I'd describe as a biscuit as they were soft and fluffy - a biscuit is crunchy! I am not sure that the recipe called for enough butter and I would use a further 2 tablespoons and next time I would also use salted and not unsalted butter, however I will certainly be saving this recipe and using again - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were ok, but the texture wasn't what I had expected. They turned out too light and fluffy - like a biscuit. I was hoping for something more a little more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made mine with frozen raspberries and when they came out of the oven I drizzled them with icicng sugar glaze, delicious!! And gone in a day! This time I am trying an apple cinnamon version with a brown sugar crumble on top!!Excellent recipie even for a beginner baker like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States