World's Best Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Wasn't as sweet as everyone says...I loved it! I don't like spice in my pumpkin pie, so this recipe was perfect! I followed the recipe exactly as it is. And I am a big time sweet tooth!! Yum! My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made this pie, and blindly trusted it because of the 4.5 star rating. It turned out TOO SWEET. I don't know why it didn't set off any alarms to me that this recipe uses 1.5 cups of sugar to just under 2 cups of pumpkin puree. I didn't realize how wrong that seems until I tasted the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe is great! I followed it exactly, making two pies. It's easy to make and almost all the ingredients are already in the cabinet. Though, I have to admit as many others have, that it is too sweet (in addition to a lot of filling)! I will definitely be cutting down on the sugar. I always appreciate reviews that follow the recipe exactly first before adjusting measurements to their tastes. As I have followed the recipe, I hope I can spare my thoughts on it. I am definitely one with a sweet tooth and this recipe calls for too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I chose this recipe after reading others, because it uses milk, and I don't usually stock condensed milk or evaporate milk. I also like it when I can control the amount of sugar in the recipe. I followed Kleerae's suggestions of cutting down on sugar and milk, and I really like the slightly soft texture of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I wish I would have read the reviews first! WAY too much milk and sugar! Unfortunately I was already all-in before I realized this mistake. The mixture was so runny I thought "this can't be right?" There was also way more than enough for the pie so I ended up tossing the rest (what a waste). I think it would be absolutely perfect with 3/4 cup milk or cream and the brown sugar ONLY! Seriously, you really don't need that much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is an amazing pumpkin pie recipe that is easy and simply GREAT. Half of us don't even like pumpkin pie and we love it anyway. My 13 year old daughter has made this 3 times for dessert. One filling makes 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
It needed more spice! I'm lactose intolerant, so I liked that I could substitute lactose free milk and enjoy it instead of being sick or skipping over it. To ensure it 'set' (I used homemade pumpkin puree) I added a heaping tablespoon of cornstarch to the eggs before I added them in. I made a mousse and didn't use a pie crust. I also used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
My first from scratch pumpkin pie. And it was incredible! I was worried when I used skim milk and only 1/4 cup whole (the recipe does not specify so i wondereded if whole was implied). I also used 1 yolk vs 2 (2 whites). I made fresh pumpkin puree vs. canned. It was delicious! I did add a little nutmeg, allspice and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
The filling has an okay flavor, but the recipe as-is makes entirely too much for one pie! It also takes a long time to firm up. I'll probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
best pumpkin pie I've ever made. I added only pumpkin pie spice. Otherwise, it's just fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casseopeia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kentfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States