World's Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great recipe! Didn't use half and half, but otherwise followed the recipe and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
this soup was very yummy! the only thing i would change next time is reducing the salt. i would suggest using one less buillon cube and also low sodium cream of mushroom. salt can also be added later! with that being said, i will definitely be making this again. Oh, and my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Great soup, did adjust it a little. I sauteed the celery and onion in a little butter, used evaporated skim milk rather than half and half or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Fast & yummy is always a winner with me. Very good and filling too. Some changes, saute' the onion in the bacon pan, along with a little fresh garlic. Also, whenever I make a cream soup instead of cream, half & half, or whatever the recipe dictates I use canned milk. I suggest mixing the milk in a bowl with the canned soup before adding to the hot water so it wouldn't have lumps. Didn't have any celery, didn't even miss it. Also, I didn't add the cheese to the pot. Instead I prefer to add the cheese like a garnish on top of the soup in the bowl. I also added a dab of sour cream to my bowl before pouring the soup in. The soup was a little thinner than I prefer, so I mixed a little corn starch with a small amount of milk and added that at the end. This is a great recipe, a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I've tried several different potato soup recipes over the years and I will have to say this is one of the best recipes so far. Also, it was so simple to make without much preparation which is great for our busy family. This one will go to the top of my 'soup' list for sure! And I didn't change or add one thing - you don't need to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
i did not like potato soup until i tried this! i still don't eat anyone else's tater soup! i've taken this to church on many occasions and all i take home is an empty pot! absolutely world's best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is definitely a winner for me!! Of course everyone thinks they can make your recipe better. I did take a few suggestions though. i sauted my red onion, celery and fresh mushrooms that i added in the bacon fat while the potatoes and boullion started cooking besides that i followed the recipe. i for got to add the cheese at first and i though it was delicious. after i added the cheese i alomst wish i would have omitted it. it was still very good but the sharpness of the cheese agve it bite. This is the second time ive made this and i will be making it again. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefBrad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I have tried many potato soup recipes and liked them all, but this one was really the best ever! My husband loved it. I sauted celery, green onion and a clove of minced garlic in a little butter and sprinkled on salt, pepper, thyme, and parsley as others suggested. I used the same large nonstick skillet/wok to add in the potatoes (peeled) and brown them a little bit, as I have another recipe that has you do this and I like having the potatoes slightly browned. I used one packet of the new Knorr homestyle chicken stock concentrate dissolved into 3and a half cups boiling water, was just the right amount of liquid for the recipe size. I also used 4 cheese mexican grated cheese instead of cheddar. I left out the bacon since I don't eat meat and it was still wonderful! I will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I changed it up a little. I used russets, reds, and sweet potatoes, the left over ham from Xmas and pureed half of the soup in the pot to thicken it. I didn't add the cream of mushroom soup. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is to die for. I peeled the potatos, sauteed the celery and onion and use heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. I also added about a cup of leftover mashed potato but it would be awesome either way. This is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Knox Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States