World's Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I have tried many potato soup recipes and liked them all, but this one was really the best ever! My husband loved it. I sauted celery, green onion and a clove of minced garlic in a little butter and sprinkled on salt, pepper, thyme, and parsley as others suggested. I used the same large nonstick skillet/wok to add in the potatoes (peeled) and brown them a little bit, as I have another recipe that has you do this and I like having the potatoes slightly browned. I used one packet of the new Knorr homestyle chicken stock concentrate dissolved into 3and a half cups boiling water, was just the right amount of liquid for the recipe size. I also used 4 cheese mexican grated cheese instead of cheddar. I left out the bacon since I don't eat meat and it was still wonderful! I will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I changed it up a little. I used russets, reds, and sweet potatoes, the left over ham from Xmas and pureed half of the soup in the pot to thicken it. I didn't add the cream of mushroom soup. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is to die for. I peeled the potatos, sauteed the celery and onion and use heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. I also added about a cup of leftover mashed potato but it would be awesome either way. This is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Knox Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leia
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Very much enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
They weren't lying when they named it the best. I've made this several times and it's always a hit. Tip: if I don't feel like frying up a pound of bacon (or the bacon doesn't make it once it's fried) I'll throw in a 3 oz jar of real bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The best~! Made it in the crockpot, used sm. thing of evaported milk instead of half and half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is VERY VERY good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
The original recipe contains WAY TOO MUCH sodium. Instead, buy the healthy choice (Fat Free and less sodium) or just less sodium can of cream of chicken. Also, omit the chicken bouillon. The sodium in the can of cream of chicken is enough seasoning. I also added a little chives or diced scallions for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
best potato soup i ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent! The ingredient list is spot on. I sauted the onion and celery in a little butter and added some black pepper. Used 3 parts chicken broth to 1 part water to make sure it didn't taste like chicken soup. Have used heavy cream & half & half, they're both equally as good. Put the bacon in with the potatoes so the flavor sinks in. So many wonderful flavors, my step-son who doesn't 'do' soup said it was the best he's ever had and loves it! I add garlic to most things but wouldn't for this recipe, thanks! All my other inferior potato soup recipes are getting deleted from my box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States