World's Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is the best potato soup recipe I have ever tried. From now on, it will be my standard for potato soup and I will recommend it to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
The soup is good, but I would suggest subsituting cream of mushroom for cream of potato.. Makes more sense in my opinion. Also, I don't like bacon in the soup because the bacon won't stay crisp, it becomes soggy & flimsy. Otherwise, follow the recipe sauteeing the veggies first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovevisionary
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe is really good. As many of people do, I did change a couple of things. I used Swansons chicken broth instead of boullion cubes and water. I also used 1/2 lb of bacon and used Tillamook shredded mexican cheese instead of all cheddar cheese. I put a couple of dashes of Mrs. Dash garlic and herb in also. Very good. Everyone in the family loved it. I have put this in my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
this one is very popular in our house! Full of flavor!! I did use Smoked Bacon and added a clove of Garlic! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This soup is AWESOME! I didnt have half and half so I substituted that with milk, and to make up for the thickness, I added a extra can of cream of mushroom soup. This was my first time making a soup, and it was great! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Joines

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Delicious! I live with my boyfriend and a roommate. They loved it! I tweaked just two things though. I added two cans of cream of mushroom instead of one. Still used half & half. Also while everything was in the pot almost ready, I took a masher and mashed the potatoes slightly so they were not ALL chunks. Gave it a creamy texture with some chunks as well. Very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great recipe! Didn't use half and half, but otherwise followed the recipe and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
this soup was very yummy! the only thing i would change next time is reducing the salt. i would suggest using one less buillon cube and also low sodium cream of mushroom. salt can also be added later! with that being said, i will definitely be making this again. Oh, and my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Great soup, did adjust it a little. I sauteed the celery and onion in a little butter, used evaporated skim milk rather than half and half or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Fast & yummy is always a winner with me. Very good and filling too. Some changes, saute' the onion in the bacon pan, along with a little fresh garlic. Also, whenever I make a cream soup instead of cream, half & half, or whatever the recipe dictates I use canned milk. I suggest mixing the milk in a bowl with the canned soup before adding to the hot water so it wouldn't have lumps. Didn't have any celery, didn't even miss it. Also, I didn't add the cheese to the pot. Instead I prefer to add the cheese like a garnish on top of the soup in the bowl. I also added a dab of sour cream to my bowl before pouring the soup in. The soup was a little thinner than I prefer, so I mixed a little corn starch with a small amount of milk and added that at the end. This is a great recipe, a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States