World's Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
good stuff, made a few tweaks, extra carrot, chicken broth not water....we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Great bones... I really love this soup and my husband loved it too! He is not easily sold. I used the advice of other members and added Garlic and fresh mushrooms. I sautéed the garlic,onion,celery and mushrooms in the bacon grease and added that to the potato water. I also added a half of cream cheese to help thicken the soup when I added the cheese. The spices I used were garlic salt, thyme, ground coriander, parsley and lots of ground pepper. Delicious!! I am the type of cook who adds a little of this and that...whatever I have on hand and this is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Soup was very good and filling. I sauteed the celery and onion as someone else suggested. The only thing I would to different Is peel the potatoes. Personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I loved this soup. I made a few substitutions based on what I had at home. I used shallots instead of an onion as I just bought some at the farmers market, I also used a can of evaporated milk in place of the half and half, I put half of the bacon in the soup and kept the rest reserved for garnish, a couple dashes of natures seasoning salt and I added half a packet of dry ranch seasoning for additional flavor. Topped it off with green onion, bacon crumbles and cheese. Mmm I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Moore
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was amazing and don't think I can ever go back to can soup again. The whole family(4) loved it and we still have enough leftover to still feed a army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Okay guys this isn't homemade but it's hands down a keeper. Made it last night. Double Recipe. sort ta. Used 5 lbs potatoes, quart of half and half, large pinches of parsley and thyme. no salt. Used family size Campbell mushroom soup, one stick butter and only 1 lbs bacon. When it appeared that it was going to be thin added 1/2 cup of instant mashed potato. Made a large crock pot full. Put it out at my VFW and they all had at least one bowl almost had to beat them off. This is a great basic fast tasty potato soup. Before you knock it, try it, adjust it if you want you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This will now be my go-to potato soup recipe! A few minor changes: I seasoned it the way I like to season potato soup, and I also took my masher and gave it a few mashes to make sure it was thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Didn't add cream of anything soup, used low sodium chicken stock, sautéed onions and celery in butter, with 6-7 baby carrots chopped fine. Put in crock pot on high for 7 hours--pureed some to thicken the rest. Used chunks of a ham steak. Added crispy bacon and scallions on top when serving. Very good. Potatoes were actually too well done, next time, I'll cook on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was so flavorful and delicious. A very inexpensive and hearty meal. And extremely easy to make. I added pepper, extra cheese and some sour cream. Delicious! The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States