World's Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I've been searching for years for a fantastic potato soup recipe. No recipe ever hit the mark...then I found this recipe. By far THE BEST potato soup I have ever made, a definite keeper! The only real change I made was to add 3 cups of shredded carrots and cut the bouillon cubes down to 3 from 6. 6 cubes is just way too much sodium for anyone. I also jazzed it up with extra old white cheddar instead of regular cheddar. I always use red potatoes for everything as they have so much more flavour and they don't need to be peeled...and finally, I find the Applewood Thick Sliced Bacon from Walmart is the best kind of bacon to use. Can't get enough of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
i made this recipe tonight,i always tweek every recipe,but i ahve to say for the most part i stuck to it,,,i used cream of celery as my litl boy hates mushrooms...i also cooked the veggies some before pouring the liquid over it..its amazing and we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Siler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
i used a can of cream of mushroom soup and what i had in the fridge: a cup of milk, an entire stalk of celery, an onion, a small bag of baby potatoes, 6 oz of bacon. I omitted the cheese because the soup alone was decadent enough for me. I recommend frying the bacon first and using the bacon drippings to saute the onion, celery and potatoes. I only used 3 chicken bouillon cubes, covered the veggies in water and let it come to a boil. I turned the heat down to medium and added the milk, cream of mushroom soup and chopped bacon. I let it all simmer for another 20-30 minutes. DELICIOUS!!! Didn't need any extra salt because the veggies were cooked in the bacon grease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Increased the recipe to 40 for a church dinner and this was a HIT!! used the base soup, without bacon, cheese or mushroom soup, and added rinsed and drained cannolini beans and chopped kale...also a HIT! Cale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This is good, but it's honestly not blowing my mind or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
My husband wants this soup at least twice a month. It is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I have made this twice and both times made some very different changes. The first time, I omitted the cheese but added nutritional yeast and garlic and broccoli. It was great. The second time I used the cheese but added one grated carrot and 1/2 pack of baby bella mushrooms to the saute before adding the ingredients. Great again! Neither time did I use bacon because do don't eat it and it was not missing in the taste department in my opinion. A keeper recipe and I think the secret is the mushroom soup. I tasted it right before adding it and it...big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
world's best is not an exaggeration. well, at least it's the best I've had. I prefer to use cream of celery though- the mushroom is a little deep for this soup. Plus, I added some cooking wine and dried parsley to finish it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McCargar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Great soup!! Quick & Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Stiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is Fantastically Awesome and Extremely Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Hill Saarela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States