World's Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! Best potato salad I've ever had! Two downsides: I no longer like any other potato salad, and I get more requests to bring this dish than I can handle! I used 3/4 cup mayo & 1/4 cup miracle whip in place of 1 cup mayo, as I like the little extra sweetness. I also garnish with a dusting of smoked paprika. I didnt use the celery seed the first time i made this, because i missed the note at the bottom, but it was amazing without so i will continue to make it that way. Also, this tastes delicious after cooling down to room temp... I dont find it necessary to chill for very long or over night, so I often make it morning of an afternoon or evening gathering with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
This is the closest potato salad to the Norwegian deli I lived near as a child in Brooklyn, New York. Delicious! After reading the reviews I cut the sugar in half and used almost 5 lbs of red potatoes. I did not add egg because Olga at the deli didn't use them in hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I did not like it. There was way too much sugar and I tasted the evaporated milk. Not to my liking. Maybe cutting way down on sugar and using sweet pickles and half and half instead of evaporated milk. But then it's a different recipe. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muunstruk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I always peal the potatoes and dice them before boiling. This way you can make a creamer salad by putting it together while the potatoes are hot. If you want it lumpy wait until it cools. Separate the whites from the yolks. Mix the Mayonnaise and egg whites with the hot potatoes. Put the yolks, vinegar, relish, salt and pepper together making making it kind of runny. This way you can determine how white or how yellow you want the salad. This is a Southern Potato Salad that I have made for over 50 years. Randy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Sanchez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Terrible! Mine is so much better, it is always requested when we go anywhere or if we have people over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Wow!! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. This is THE BEST potato salad ever!!! It is a keeper!! Was east to make and the dressing makes it irresistible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This potato salad was very yummy. The only alteration I made to it was I altered the serving size. I followed it according to the directions for a larger serving size (10 servings), and I felt the dressing yielded a lot more than what I typically like on my potato salad. I don't like potato salad that swims so I didn't end up using all of the dressing. However, it still tasted yummy and I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I would rate it 7. I tried it and found that it is good. I found that when adding the milk to the vinegar, the milk curded. vinegar plus milk makes sour milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
The first taste of this potato salad and I thought, oh no, who is ever going to eat this, its so sweet.... But, thank goodness, I always make my potato salads a day ahead to give the flavors a chance to marry, which is what saved this one. It was still to sweet for me even the day after, but the hubby, who has a sweet tooth, loved it, so 4 stars it is! Thank you Kaye Lynn for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I did not care for the taste or texture of this potato salad. It's as if it's trying to be a sweet, mustard and German potato salad all at once - but misses on all three counts. My family and I found it to be cloyingly sweet, unnecessarily and overly rich, somewhat grainy, and heavy on the onion and celery. The extra ingredients and steps, as compared to a standard mayo based recipe, are not worth it in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States