World's Best Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This is the best!! Needing potato salad for a large group in a hurry - I purchased potato salad from a restauant supply. It was dry and flavorless so I turned to this recipe, replacing the 5 med. potatoes with 4 lb. of purchased potato salad. I did reduce the sugar and added some shredded carrots for color, let it set overnight and had the perfect potato salad. My husband who doesn't like potato salad just kept eating it. Probably not as great as when make entirely from scratch - but no one seemed to notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leetonia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This is my absolute favorite potato salad recipe. I have tried so many others and I always come back to this one. People rav about it every single time, too. I sometimes skip the celery just because I'm not in the mood for the texture but other than that, I stick to the recipe completely. Thank you very much for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I'm 64 & have never been able to make edible potato salad! Until yesterday when I tried this. I confess I misread - added 1 Tbs of cornstarch, but it turned out excellent! I put in about 10 potatoes since I was unsure of my "medium" sized potatoes. And I didn't add quite all of the cooked sauce as I was afraid it would be too sweet. But next time, I'm adding all & putting in at least 10, maybe 12 potatoes. Husband says this is pert near close to his mom's (which he thought was the best in the world.) I am so Happy! I have made potato salad - and it is excellent! Thank you Kaye!!!!! LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I will no longer need to listen to how fabulous my mother-in-law's potato salad is better than anyone after I made this. None left at the end of a fabulous party! Easy, interesting, affordable and easy to adjust. Will definitely do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie Rivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
OK and edible but not my idea of a true potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Fantastic potato salad! One of the very best that I have made from this site. I made as written, and after reading the submitters suggestion, I used 2 tsp. of cornstarch and added the celery seed to the dressing. It is creamy and delicious. Yes, it is on the sweet side, but that is how we like our potato salad. I used all apple cider vinegar, but can see where other flavors would work well. Paired this with 'Sausage, Pepper, and Onion Sandwiches' from AR and fresh fruit and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner on this cold and rainy Sunday evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Awesome! My whole family loves it and I shared the recipe with my mom and she loves it too. Creamy, sweet, salty, tart- the perfect combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I'm making this for a baby shower tomorrow. I usually just throw my potato salad ingredients together. This is the first time I have used and actual recipe. I had everything but the evaporated milk. I added two tsp. cornstarch. 1/3 cup sugar. Green onions instead of white. (I love onions but to please a crowd I figured it was better to omit them. I added a bit of celery seed as per Kaye's suggestion. I used 5 oz of milk instead of the evaporated. I used Russet potatoes. I just mixed it all together and took a bite. Mmmmm, Perfect flavor! I can't wait until the sauce marries the potato and really soaks in. By tomorrow it will be ready to serve and I am quite happy with the results! Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rennaba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Tried it out on Easter, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States