World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Made this recipe as written, except used 3/4 pound italian sausage -- that seemed like enough. Husband, who's a big fan of meat sauce, said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Hope you enjoy it. I am still amazed that the responces my other recipe has recieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnchandler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Very good, love the flavor. IT says to turn it on low to simmer, but my stove has both a simmer setting and low. Turn it on simmer, to prevent sauce from drying up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
We took this to a pasta potluck and received many compliments and requests for the recipe! My daughter actually made it and said it was quick and easy. [But not quite as good as her husband's ;-)] Since everyone seemed to really like it I rated it five stars. Personally, it was too much meat for me and next time I will cut the sugar in half or omit it entirely. If you can find the Contadina brand tomato products I recommend using them. Their flavor is less acidic than other brands. This may be why I didn't think it needed the sugar. Their roasted garlic flavored tomato paste is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANIS MILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I absolutely have to agree. I have made the lasagna several times and it remains my favorite. I do add extra red pepper flakes, b/c I like it 'kicked up' a bit! This is a fantastic meat sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariposa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Thanks so much for a great recipe. I followed it pretty closely, but didn't have any fennel seeds. I did see fennel seeds in the sweet italian sausage I bought. I made mine a little meatier with a full 1.25 lbs of sausage, and over a pound of hamburger. I used diced rather than crushed tomatoes, and simmered the sauce all afternoon. It is simply delicious. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hettinger, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
a amazing recipe! read all helful review to obtain a perfect food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caguas, Caguas, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Very rich tasting....robust may be more appropriate. Be careful with the fennel seeds...a little goes a long way. The taste is excellent. The only thing I changed was that I added a little garlic salt (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
WONDERFUL! This was probably the best homemade meat sauce I've ever made. Absolutely a keeper! I used this to make a lasagna and it came out delicious. I even had enough sauce left over to freeze. If you like meat, you need to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I have never made Pasta Sauce before it was always Store bought stuff...But now that I have found this my husband said never again from the shelf LOL...Plus he thinks it took me all day and it really didn't (that is out little secret hahaha)Absolutly the BEST!!!! Very thick and meaty. THanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States