World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've been using this recipe for sauce since I discovered the recipe for worlds best lasagna years ago. Love it! As does my husband and his italian family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Followed the original recipe with red wine substituted for water, more ground beef instead of the sausage, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, and 1/2 tsp oregano. Definitely wasn't flavorful enough for my liking; could have used half as much wine and more spices. I'll be sure to try it again with some changes and see if I can get the same results as others here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Best sauce my husband ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was the best sauce I've ever made! I pretty much followed the directions except only added about 1/2 pnd hamburger and I didn't have any fennel seed. Other than that, followed it to the letter. Made traditional spaghetti with it the first night and froze the leftovers in a gallon baggy. That was about 3 weeks ago and tonight I made Lasagna and it was the best. This will be my go to sauce from now on. Thank you so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I stayed pretty close to this recipe as is, just didn't have any fennel on hand and used ground Italian sausage instead of sliced. I could eat this sauce plain, it's so good! I'm excited to try experimenting with ratios and other ingredients but as is I still give it a 5/5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I use this sauce with any italian meal I make. The only changes I make are I substitute the sugar with honey, and simmer it longer. I first tried the lasagna with this recipe and I was hooked! Great flavor. Thank you for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Very good base recipe. Easy to make alterations and still come out very good. As many others did, I made several changes according to my taste. Definitely better than anything we get around the Clearwater, Fl area in the restaurants. I'll be making this often. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Used this in lasagna... incredible meat sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robzymuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I normally make marinara sauce to save on fat/calories, but decided to splurge this one time. I loved the combination of the sweet sausage and lean ground beef (I used ground round). My changes/additions were to add some fresh tomatoes and sweet peppers I had frozen last winter before they went "soft", 1/2 tsp unsweetened cocoa, 1/2 cup sweet red wine and fresh basil, rather than dried, just because I have it growing this time of year. A really great sauce I will use on pasta and maybe later in lasagna. Really loving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I made this several months ago on a whim, but forgot to save it to my recipe file. I've been looking and looking for it. Here it is!!!! This is by far my favorite pasta sauce! We had it for dinner on rigatoni and I saved the rest in small batches in the freezer. It was amazing! Holy smoke this is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dovie65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States