World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was the best sauce I've ever made! I pretty much followed the directions except only added about 1/2 pnd hamburger and I didn't have any fennel seed. Other than that, followed it to the letter. Made traditional spaghetti with it the first night and froze the leftovers in a gallon baggy. That was about 3 weeks ago and tonight I made Lasagna and it was the best. This will be my go to sauce from now on. Thank you so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I stayed pretty close to this recipe as is, just didn't have any fennel on hand and used ground Italian sausage instead of sliced. I could eat this sauce plain, it's so good! I'm excited to try experimenting with ratios and other ingredients but as is I still give it a 5/5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I use this sauce with any italian meal I make. The only changes I make are I substitute the sugar with honey, and simmer it longer. I first tried the lasagna with this recipe and I was hooked! Great flavor. Thank you for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Very good base recipe. Easy to make alterations and still come out very good. As many others did, I made several changes according to my taste. Definitely better than anything we get around the Clearwater, Fl area in the restaurants. I'll be making this often. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Used this in lasagna... incredible meat sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robzymuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I normally make marinara sauce to save on fat/calories, but decided to splurge this one time. I loved the combination of the sweet sausage and lean ground beef (I used ground round). My changes/additions were to add some fresh tomatoes and sweet peppers I had frozen last winter before they went "soft", 1/2 tsp unsweetened cocoa, 1/2 cup sweet red wine and fresh basil, rather than dried, just because I have it growing this time of year. A really great sauce I will use on pasta and maybe later in lasagna. Really loving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I made this several months ago on a whim, but forgot to save it to my recipe file. I've been looking and looking for it. Here it is!!!! This is by far my favorite pasta sauce! We had it for dinner on rigatoni and I saved the rest in small batches in the freezer. It was amazing! Holy smoke this is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dovie65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This sauce is great. Just the way it is. If you notice it is the sauce for this cooks awesome lasagna. So it does not need a bunch of other vegetables. Red wine is a great addition but it is never in place of sugar. sugar is added to balance out the canned tomatoes. As for the fennel over load. No way. Fennel is great and not too much. Maybe some people need to stop trying recipes for kicks. If your that great of a cook make up your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I made this sauce for Mother's Day & loved it. Very easy to make & all I added was red pepper flakes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This was an amazing recipe that I use often when making Italian food in need of a red sauce. I find it helpful to simmer the meats in a muscadine red wine (just a splash, or two, or three... depending on your love of wine!) because the addition gives it real character that is noticeable in the finished product. Hope this helps! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States