World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Like many other reviewers, I added and changed a bit, but this is a good recipe to start with if you've never made a tomato sauce before. I didn't add the sugar (the tomatoes are sweet enough!), and used wine instead of water. Put some olive oil in and added way more garlic and basil. Turned out great! Will try in the crock pot next time to give everything more time to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
This is now my go to sauce recipe. I followed the recipe as is and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Excellent sauce. This will be my go-to recipe for meat sauce from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Very good but I was hoping for more by the ratings. I would retitle it world's meatiest pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I used this recipe as a base and it was wonderful! I altered a few things from the very start, based upon the top positive and negative reviews. I would say it is hands down the best red sauce I've had...and I'm super picky. I added a 3/4cup onion more...just my preference Three cloves garlic (preference) 15oz tomato sauce (sweet basil flavor) Substituted a 1/2cup Sauvignon Cabernet for the water and sugar No fennel seed (if you're using sweet italian sausage) Added 1 teaspoon oregano Lots of salt and pepper. I go by sight and preference! Taste as you go YUMM! I cooked the sausage (155F), ground beef and the onion/mushroom/green pepper/garlic mixture* ...in three separate pans. Cook all three completely. *Start cooking the onions and mushrooms together first in a pan of medium low olive oil. Add a small chopped green pepper. Add garlic the last two minutes. The whole thing should take about 15min. Combine both meats and onion/garlic mixture in a large pan. Add the crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, tomato sauce, red wine and seasonings. Bring to simmer and follow above instructions OR I transferred it all into a 5.5quart Crock Pot and cook on high for 3.5hrs, stirring occasionally. BEST.SAUCE.EVER. My advice is to add more of what you like/prefer. Happy cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I use this recipe as a base for all my pasta sauces. I do add a few things depending on its final use. Fresh mushroom, green pepper and red wine are good additions. I tried something different last time. I doubled recipe and added hot cherizo sausage in addition to the Italian. Sounds weird, but came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by discing4life

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
OMG!!! My new pasta sauce. This recipe is really outstanding . A was a really big hit in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I use tomato paste 2 18 oz and chicken broth or chicken stock,and the other half water for each can of paste use 3 cans of water or chicken stock, also I add some olive oil, and then simmer for 4 hours to get all the flavor of the meats in you sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I think this is the best meat sauce. Made it last year for the lasagna and got rave reviews, now I make extra and freeze it for later use. Like other reviews I add red wine in place of the water and it makes a difference. Thanks for a great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stratford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States