World's Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2000
I left in the raisins, using 1/2 cup, and changed the walnuts to macadamia nuts. Macadamia nuts, totally make either these or chocolate chip cookies! These cookies ended up nice and crunchy, without being crumbly. The amount of flour is Critical! I tried it with an 1/8-cup more flour, and the cookies were too hard, and too dry. So make sure you use 3/4 cup, and tap it down. The recipe doesn't really make 48 cookies...more like 36, but that's okay. Just double it. You'll end up eating them all in 10 minutes anyway. :-) Excellent recipe, for a novice oatmeal cookie person. By the way, nowadays, I borrowed from the pros, and make the dough-drops, putting them real close on a cookie tin, then freezing them. Take the frozen dough balls and stick them in a bag, and voila! you have fresh cookies whenever you want. I usually end up adding about 5 minutes to the baking time, if the dough's frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I have been searching for a good Oatmeal Cookie recipe forever! I've found it! These were crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
Absolutely wonderful! A quick, easy delicious recipe. They were crispy outside and slightly chewy inside. I placed them in Mason jars for the Christmas holidays. They were the perfect size and texture. I cannot say enough good things about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These are actually the greatest cookies ever. Super easy to make-one large bowl and a wooden spoon and 15 minutes later you've got cookies. I used raisins the first time I made them and then raisins and mini chocolate chips the second time and needless to say they don't last long. Also if you cut the baking time by a couple of minutes they stay soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
These are wonderful. Very easy. Came out perfect. Even without the walnuts, they are very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
These cookies have a very good flavor. I did use a teaspoon to drop the cookies on the baking sheet, but I didn't get 48 cookies, more like 30. After cooling, the cookies get rather hard (I did only bake for 12 minutes as the directions recommend). If you like a softer cookie, just microwave them for 10 seconds before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
These were very good cookies. The only changes I made was to omit the walnuts because I didn't have any and I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Even my husband, who says he only really likes chocolate chip cookies, liked these. I used my #50 cookie scoop and got only one dozen 3" (approx.) cookies. I did bake for 12 minutes and we ate them while still a little warm. They were nice and chewy in the middle and lightly crisp on the edges. I couldn't tell you how they tasted the next day because we ate all 12 in one evening :) I can't imagine getting 48 cookies out of this amount of batter - if you do they would be awfully tiny and the baking time would have to be drastically reduced. This recipe was very similar to the Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies on my box of oats. There are just very minimal differences, with one of them being the ingredients are doubled what is called for in this recipe and that one says it makes 4 dozen cookies also. I wonder if the yield of 4 dozen stated in the recipe is a misprint? No matter the size they were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
just so so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Delicious. I added cinnamon to mine and I'll add even more the next time I make these. They've only been out of the oven 15 min and my husband has already eaten 8 cookies. I got 28 cookies out of mine, no where close to 4 dozen but they're so good it doesn't even matter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These where great I normally don' like oatmeal cookies but, as a surprise to my wife who does I searched for a recipe and found this one, I read the reviews and the one about getting flour just right, it did make me keep second guessing myself but, they where rght on , one recommendation I would make, is break the walnuts up a little if you make the cookies tsp big they will dominate the cookie, but good recipe, a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States