World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Loved this Recipe!! I've made it twice now - the first time i just used regular sausages and made the lasagna the same day i made the sauce. it was ok and tasted better the second day. the second time i made it, i used real Italian sausages, added a whole lot of diced veggies (zucchini, carrots, mushrooms, spinach) to the sauce, simmered the sauce and left it in the fridge overnight - AWESOME!! i used fresh basil and parsley, cut down on the salt in the sauce, only added a pinch of salt in the ricotta mixture (which i doubled) to bring out the flavor, added nutmeg as suggested by a reviewer and since i didnt have any Parmesan on hand - left it out. i used the tip by one reviewer to soak the noodles in hot water - just be careful not to wait too long to assemble the lasagna if you do it this way since the noodles stick to each other when the water goes cold. it wasn't a pretty sight but tasted great anyways! also, since i had refrigerated the sauce, it was too thick so i had to heat it up for a minute or so. looking forward to having the leftovers tonight!! *mouth watering* :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We have made this recipe so many times. My husband requests it every Sunday. It's delicious as is, but we did end up using the recommendations of others: We drain the sausage and ground beef (yields almost one cup of grease-yikes! And honestly, we couldn't even tell the difference), triple the crushed garlic, replace the water with our favorite red wine (plus add enough water to rinse out the cans, maybe 3 ounces), and omit the salt in the sauce. During the last 30 min of the simmer I soak the lasagna noodles in hot water. From bottom to top I layer sauce (only a little to keep the lasagna from burning at the bottom of the pan)-lasagna-ricotta-mozzarella-sauce-parmesan-lasagna-ricotta-mozarella-sauce-parmesan-lasagna-sauce(only enough to keep this top lasagna layer from drying out, which has happened to us before)-mozzarella-parmesan. We use shredded mozzarella, as that's usually what we have on hand (ends up being 1 cup per layer) and we do add 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the ricotta mixture. The sauce is absolutely delicious so sometimes we'll do spaghetti one night and make a smaller pan of lasagna the next night. I also make the sauce and freeze it in 1 cup amounts so if another recipe calls for marinara I'm ready! My husband said this is the best lasagna he's ever had. Since he's a huge guy he likes to add a glop of sauce on top of his lasagna as soon as it's served. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This review is only for the sauce: I omitted the meat, added sautéed mushrooms and more garlic. I also reduced the salt to 1.5 teaspoon. I put all the ingredients into my slow cooker, then let it sit inside the fridge for the next morning to just pop into the slow cooker. I placed it into the slow cooker to simmer all day on low. Just tried the sauce and it's amazing! Will be serving it with my homemade meatballs and spaghetti. I can't wait to try it with the beef and Italian sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My family loves this lasagna!!! It is work but well worth it. We live in a rural community and so I don't always have access to all the herbs at the store, so I planted basil and parsley just to have for this recipe!! I like fresh basil much better than dried so that is the only change I made to the recipe...I do use a little bit bigger pan, it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
IT took some time, but it was ssooo easy to make! My husband & our roommates LOVED IT! I wouldn't put so much ricotta cheese on it. I cooked the noodles by soaking them in hot tap water for 20-30 mintues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
All the kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Sauce is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by softspokentoya
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Delicious!!! I tweaked it a little and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I found the results bland and lacking in flavor. I used a scant tablespoon of salt and didn't add any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Jacobson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I made this for my family when we were on vacation. Everyone loved it. I doubled the cheese, as suggested by AR kitchen in magazine. I also used shredded pizza cheese instead of the mozzorella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 8,330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States