World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I've made this twice. The first time with ricotta which was amazing. The second time I subbed out the ricotta for cottage cheese (it was all I had on hand). Both times it was excellent. However, I also removed the fennel seeds the second time (as the family wasn't too excited about those the first time). Will definitely make again. My only complaint is that it is a bit time consuming. My husband also commented that the sauce itself could be used as a marinara and was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Sellner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Just made this 2 days ago. After tweeking it with some of the suggestions found in other reviews, it came out great! We quadrupled the recipe. However, we only used 1 can of tomato paste for the whole thing, we used fresh basil, we put in maybe 1/2 cup water just to rinse jars out, we also didn't boil lasagna we just poured boiling water over it and let it sit until we put it all together, and we added nutmeg to the ricotta mixture(skim ricotta was used but still came out great). It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Made 4, half pans over the weekend. We ate one, gave one away and froze 2. Absolutely delicious! Will definitely keep this recipe to make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
We made some changes to make it gluten-free and low carb and it was very good! Here's what we did: Replace lasagna noodles with uncooked zucchini slices (long ones), replace sausage and ground beef with 1.75 lbs of spicy Italian sausage (not a gluten thing - just like the flavor better), replace canned crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce with 2.5 lbs of fresh tomatoes (use the paste - you need it to thicken it up a bit), no water, no sugar, no fennel seeds (didn't have any - sausage has them anyway). Everyone loved it, even our kids! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Gonsman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Excellent. Thank you for the amazing recipe. I stayed true to the recipe, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Fabulous taste! I didn't add the sugar or fennel and reduced the salt. Next time I'm making the sauce in the morning, pulling the lasagna together in the afternoon, and refrigerating it overnight for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I took the chance on this recipe for my hubby's birthday dinner. It was a smash! My kids loved it and my hubby had 3rds! Outstanding! Thanks for posting such a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
My mom uses cottage cheese and a mixture of other cheeses and it tastes better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
It was good but not great. Tasted about the same as frozen lasagna, and it cost the same amount (with the cost of the Italian sausage). My husband said the sauce tasted like Chef Boyardee, but I think that was an exaggeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 8,611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States