World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
We have made this recipe so many times. My husband requests it every Sunday. It's delicious as is, but we did end up using the recommendations of others: We drain the sausage and ground beef (yields almost one cup of grease-yikes! And honestly, we couldn't even tell the difference), triple the crushed garlic, replace the water with our favorite red wine (plus add enough water to rinse out the cans, maybe 3 ounces), and omit the salt in the sauce. During the last 30 min of the simmer I soak the lasagna noodles in hot water. From bottom to top I layer sauce (only a little to keep the lasagna from burning at the bottom of the pan)-lasagna-ricotta-mozzarella-sauce-parmesan-lasagna-ricotta-mozarella-sauce-parmesan-lasagna-sauce(only enough to keep this top lasagna layer from drying out, which has happened to us before)-mozzarella-parmesan. We use shredded mozzarella, as that's usually what we have on hand (ends up being 1 cup per layer) and we do add 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the ricotta mixture. The sauce is absolutely delicious so sometimes we'll do spaghetti one night and make a smaller pan of lasagna the next night. I also make the sauce and freeze it in 1 cup amounts so if another recipe calls for marinara I'm ready! My husband said this is the best lasagna he's ever had. Since he's a huge guy he likes to add a glop of sauce on top of his lasagna as soon as it's served. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This review is only for the sauce: I omitted the meat, added sautéed mushrooms and more garlic. I also reduced the salt to 1.5 teaspoon. I put all the ingredients into my slow cooker, then let it sit inside the fridge for the next morning to just pop into the slow cooker. I placed it into the slow cooker to simmer all day on low. Just tried the sauce and it's amazing! Will be serving it with my homemade meatballs and spaghetti. I can't wait to try it with the beef and Italian sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My family loves this lasagna!!! It is work but well worth it. We live in a rural community and so I don't always have access to all the herbs at the store, so I planted basil and parsley just to have for this recipe!! I like fresh basil much better than dried so that is the only change I made to the recipe...I do use a little bit bigger pan, it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
IT took some time, but it was ssooo easy to make! My husband & our roommates LOVED IT! I wouldn't put so much ricotta cheese on it. I cooked the noodles by soaking them in hot tap water for 20-30 mintues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
All the kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by softspokentoya
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Delicious!!! I tweaked it a little and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I found the results bland and lacking in flavor. I used a scant tablespoon of salt and didn't add any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Jacobson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I made this for my family when we were on vacation. Everyone loved it. I doubled the cheese, as suggested by AR kitchen in magazine. I also used shredded pizza cheese instead of the mozzorella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great - nice and easy for hungry teenagers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Merchand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Delicious! I made three changes: I used fresh/frozen basil from my last year's harvest instead of dried, I omitted the 1 Tablespoon of salt in the sauce (and it was not missed) and I used Barilla® (no-cook) lasagna noodles. We had friend's over for dinner tonight, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 8,399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States