World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Easy & Very good! I used fresh basil in the whole milk ricotta and whole milk Polly-O mozzerella plus half my sausage was spicy...I also bought premade marinara and used that to speed things up. I also made 3 layers....but the proportions were perfect. Saucy, not soupy and DELISH! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I usually just throw stuff together with a lasagna, using jarred sauce. This was going to be Christmas dinner so I thought I would try something special. WOW...did this ever impress me! I agree with what others have said, it is a little more time consuming, but it is definitely worth it! I got a lot of compliments and I agreed that it was one of the best lasagnas I had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzi Fullam Murro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I'm giving this 5 stars...but as written it actually deserves only 4 stars. Too much salt. I was nervous when I saw 1 tablespoon salt, but I figured with all the 5 star ratings, it had to be great that way. This was one recipe when I really wish I would have read the reviews first. I usually like to try a recipe as is before doctoring it up and making substitutions. I should have trusted my instincts and used much MUCH less salt. It was delicious, but the salt sort of killed it for me. I could tell that without the extra salt it would be perfection. We all have our own opinions on salt, if I had made this for my mother she probably would have added more to her portion, lol. I did really love this...minus the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this recipe for a friend who has been in the hospital for a month and has to be on a low sodium diet. He is really tired of hospital food and in need of something with some flavor. I managed to get the sodium down to 360 mg per serving by changing just a few things. I used 2 lbs. of lean ground beef instead of the sausage/beef combo. I used 2 pint jars of home canned stewed tomatoes, and the paste and tomato sauce was no salt added. I used 2 cups shredded mozzarella and 2 cups shredded Italian blend cheese. I did not use any parmesan cheese. I did not add any extra salt at all. I did add extra onion and 1 cup of sliced mushrooms. I also took the advice of other reviews and soaked my noodles in hot water for 30 minutes rather than boiling them, and added a pinch of nutmeg to the ricotta cheese. It was probably the best lasagna I have ever made. I personally did not care for the fennel seeds, but everyone else said it was seasoned perfectly. I would suggest using a bigger lasagna pan than the one the recipe calls for. I used a 9x12 aluminum pan, and another aluminum loaf pan, because I had so much left over after my lasagna pan was filled. It ended up making 15 large servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is the first time I've ever reviewed a recipe on allrecipes. I feel compelled because this is the best lasagna that I've ever had and we got RAVE reviews from our family. These are my comments: *Using sweet Italian sausage made this incredible. We bought a pound and browned it with 1.4# of ground beef. *Low fat ricotta (bought mistakenly) does not detract from the dish. *I used a lot more fennel and Italian seasoning than was called for. *You'll need a lot more than 1.5 cups of the sauce per layer - which is fine because the recipe makes extra sauce. *Wholewheat lasagna noodles that do not need to be pre-cooked/soaked work great. *Fresh basil is always a good idea. *We cooked it exactly as written (25min covered then 25 min uncovered). *Pre-shredded mozzarella (again, bought mistakenly) instead of sliced was great. This sauce is so good that we'll make it separately and freeze it for other pasta dishes. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Noyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Absolutely great!! I used suggestions from previous reviewers (nutmeg in ricotta mix, omitted the salt, only 1 can of paste, no fennel seeds, and soaked noodles for 30 mins in hot tap water). I cooked the sauce in a crockpot for 2 hours. This will be the ONLY recipe I use from this point on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paulding, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I read the reviews before making this recipe and the comments about too much salt. I've made lasagna before and always use 1tsp not tablespoon of salt. I reduced the salt to 1 tsp, still used the Italian seasoning and it was just fine. If you cannot find ricotta cheese you can substitute 2 - 12oz cartons of cottage cheese instead and leave out the egg. I like to add 1/2 c Parmesan cheese to my ricotta mixture. I'm from WI so the more cheese the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I added some spinach and Kale to the meat sauce. Was really good. I also didnt use a 9x13 pan. I used a roasting pan to fit it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dpoledna
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Made this tonight for my NEW YEARS Dinner. However I had to change up a bit we used Gluten free noodles due to my wife's allergies and used cream cheese instead of ricotta because my 9yr old wouldn't eat it. It was probably the best I have ever made! Thank you. The fennel is something I will never cook without. I appreciate you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made this lasagna for new year's eve dinner with friends and they loved it. I couldn't find ricotta cheese so I substituted with Alfredo sauce. It was on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 8,758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States