World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
MMMMMMMMMMMMM That looks delicous and its good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Felipe Pueblo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
We tried the recipe almost exactly as is - and made a double batch - one to freeze. Next time I would make a few modifications. First - American tomato sauces often are very sweet due to excessive use of tomato paste and sugar. I reduced the amount of added sugar in half - and it was still sweeter than I like. A lot of folks have gotten used to this in American-Italian cooking and love sugar in everything - including pizza and ragus. Not us. Next time I would half the tomato paste, and eliminate the sugar completely - its unnecessary. I think tomato paste should be used sparingly in general. Also - I caramelized the meats and onion by cooking it in two batches (so it's not cooking by steaming in its own water) and letting it develop a bit of crust. This adds a great taste to most meat sauces. We also used fresh pasta sheets from a local pasta maker. These should not be pre-cooking. They do need more water in the recipe because as they cook they suck the moisture out of the surrounding ingredients. Because we used these thin sheets we doubled the number of layers and changed the order a little bit to allow us to do that without changing the amount of other ingredients. We wound up with 6 lasagna sheets. The lasagna was delicious and a great consistency. We cooked 5 minutes longer covered and 5 minutes longer uncovered - nice brown crust - and it was perfect. While it was cooling we had a Caesar salad with homemade caesar dressing and croutons. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is without a doubt the best lasagna I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrbutton
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this recipe as is and I was pleasantly surprised, so was my family. I have been making the same jar spaghetti sauce lasagna for over 10 years because that's how my mom taught me to make lasagna. I have made lasagna that way for my family 6-8 times a year. My husband told me this lasagna is the best he has tasted in over 20 years and his mom is 100% Italian. This will be the only way I make lasagna from now on. It takes a bit more work, but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Great, easy and good for more that lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by danicajt
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
We ate this 2 days straight and it was 3 year old approved! Thanks for such a great recipe. I omitted the additional salt, it definitely did not need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Guyinphilly
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
First lasagna I ever made and my partner declared it "better than best!" Following deviations: No added salt (health reasons) No added sugar (my preference) A middle layer of spinach and mushroom A layer of pasta in the bottom Additional seasoning (eg fresh rosemary, thyme) Don't skip the fennel as it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My husband loved this recipe, but this is not the best lasagna I have ever made. Based on other reviews, I omitted the salt, and I would recommend using one tablespoon of sugar instead of two. Also, it makes a lot of sauce. If I were to make it again I would add another layer of lasagna noodles, for a better ratio of noodles to sauce. I like the sausage-and-ground-beef mixture -- the sausage really adds a depth of flavour. I also added a shot of nutmeg to the ricotta as suggested by another reviewer. But have to say I am not sure how it got the title world's best lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loislane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I mixed sweet Italian sausage with Ground Veal, twice the ricotta cheese and shredded mozzarella, fresh basil, fresh Italian parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 8,625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States