World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I don't know if I would say it's the worlds best, but it's really good! I followed the recipe exactly. I would probably do a tad bit more ricotta mixture next time (I love cheese), and use a deeper dish. I used a 9x13 pyrex and maybe 2/3 the way thru cooking, it was leaking out of the top just a little bit (from rising). Maybe it was from using the noodle tip (soaking in water rather than boiling...great tip by the way, so much easier and comes out GREAT). The lasagna curls while cooking and raised everything a bit. You also wont use all the sauce you make, but it will be enough to save maybe for two to three people. Make double the sauce if you want enough to save for a bigger dish, might as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. I even make just the sauce for spaghetti. I add green peppers and mushrooms for that. For the lasagna, I also add 2 cans of diced tomatoes with oregano and basil and a couple of bay leaves. I use shredded Italian blend cheese and shredded Parmesan. I cook this in my crock pot so it can cook all day and I don't have to worry about it at all. Like others, I don't cook my noodles, but I don't soak them either. I just put them in and they cook completely in the oven. I won't use any other recipe. This is my go to for an authentic Italian sauce. Its actually rilling my home with its delicious aroma as I type this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lavrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The lasagna came out delicious! I doubled the recipe exactly except I omitted the water. I added 2 cans of italian diced tomatoes to replace it. Although the longer the sauce cooks the better, I didn't have time so I just cooked it until the flavors of the sauce looked infused...about 30-45 minutes. I never knew what fennel seeds were or tasted like...they are a must, giving it a distinct flavor in random bites. DO NOT forget to add the sugar to kill the acidity. No more jarred sauce for me...unless I'm rushing of course. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
love this lasagna. Use only the cheese filling for in between the noodles and then sauce on the bottom and the top, and it will be even better per our own family's preferences (we don't like too much red sauce due to heartburn for hubby).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I would use a bigger pan than suggested, it overflowed a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious! And not really that much work. Made almost exactly as written except omitted the sugar because I don't like sweet sauce. I made a double batch 3 days ago and it is almost gone today..Thank you for this wonderful recipe/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Fabulous, it takes some time to make it, but it is worth it. It is the best I have ever had, it blows away all restaurant lasagna's I have had to date by a long shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
LOVED this recipe. Very rich. Here are my notes on how to make it more efficiently: Meat: I found this recipe made 7 cups of meat sauce, vs the 4.5 cups it refers to in the recipe Cheese: It's best to buy mozarella slices, vs. buying fresh mozarella and slicing it yourself. That way the slices will be thin and even. Noodles: I found using 4 lasagna noodles lengthwise in my 9 x 13 pan fit perfectly, rather than using 6 lasagna noodles width wise (=lots of leftover lasagna noodles). Agree with the other reviewers that you don't HAVE to simmer the sauce, it is really nice and rich after you mix as directed. Also nice shortcut to just soak the noodles in hot water for 20-30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is the absolute best sauce in the world. I use it more as a spaghetti sauce than for lasagna. I have also used it for stuffed shells. I use tomato puree because I don't care for pieces of tomato in my sauce. I also used stevia instead of sugar. And, due to a great love of fennel, I usually double the amount. Everyone who has had it loves this sauce and thinks it is one of the best they ever tasted. I make far more than I need so I can freeze portions for later use. It tastes wonderful, all I do is add extra fennel. Saying this is the best is not an exaggeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geriw34

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I don't think it's worth the amount of time it takes. My regular lasagna that only takes about an hour start to finish is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States