World's Best Key Lime Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Sorry, this is NOT how you make this recipe. It takes only one 8 oz. container of whipped topping i.e Cool Whip to make this recipe correctly. 16 ozs. of filling makes enough for two pies, and is too fluffy and not near tart enough to be considered for "world's best." 1/2 cup lime juice 1 can sweetened condensed milk 8 oz. Cool Whip Thats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghenghis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I make this dish a bit differently. I pour the key lime juice and condensed milk mixture into the pie crust first (rather than mixing it with the topping). Then I mix a small container of heavy whipping cream with half a tub of whip cream and add 4 oz of cream cheese for a yummy topping. Then I add a lime twist on top for garnish. This is best if you prepare it the day before and let it set in the fridge over night. Super quick. Super easy. Always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Variations to recipe: Use a hand mixer to blend lime juice and milk. Use the juice of 3 fresh limes for 1/2 cup of lime juice and use a few teaspoons of the zest in sweet. milk and lime juice blend. It’s a very good and light pie. For better taste, let sit a day or two. It blends the flavors well and balances the sweet/tart flavor. Juicing and zesting the limes takes a few extra minutes but well worth the reward. A MUST TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
This is the absolutely best key lime pie and it is so easy to make it's unbelievable. I took this pie and another key lime pie that I baked (much more complicated recipe) and all of the people that sampled the two pies picked this one hands down. Try it...you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I use this recipe all the time and I love it. I use key lime juice for it, about 2 x the amount that it calls for b/c I love the tart taste. I've also decreased the whipped topping in half and added lime zest before. Instead of putting it into a full sized graham crust, I use mini phyllo pastries to make individual portions (usually makes 3-4 boxes worth!) Occasionally with the left overs I add crushed strawberies or raspberries to make fruit dip. Its always the first to go in any buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Great, fast, easy recipe and my family LOVES it! I have also used 8oz in place of the 16 oz whipped topping and it's still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Wow, I can't believe how good this was! My husband loves key lime pie and he thought this one was great! It was a little too tart for us, but we after we topped it with more cool whip, it was perfect! I will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This recipe is great and fast to make I have been making this recipe for years. The only thing different I do is use an Oreo cookie crust. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
This pie is great! Very simple to make, I added a whole cup of lime juice to make it tart. I really don't like whipped topping, but in this pie it was great, very light. Warning, do not let pie sit out at a pot luck, even if the room is cool and the pie is well chilled, it tends to melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I agree with others that this pie is better with a little less whipped topping and a little more lime juice. My husband had mistakenly opened a can of Cream of Coconut which is like coconut flavored sweetened condensed milk. I made 4 pies and used it instead of one of the sweetened condensed milks. It was super. Thanks for this recipe and the other reviews which helped me to come up with my own version of this delicious pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States